Labeled adult indication.
Orforglipron / Foundayo
Oral nonpeptide GLP-1 receptor agonist
FDA approved in 2026 as Foundayo for chronic weight management in qualifying adults.
What does it do?
Foundayo is an FDA-approved oral non-peptide GLP-1 agonist for specified adult weight-management use. Research chemicals are not equivalent to regulated tablets.
Approved & studied uses
Community uses Reported, unvalidated
Weight management
12Approved with diet/activity in eligible adults.
Diabetes/prediabetes research
12Glycemic trials do not automatically expand the approved indication.
Cardiometabolic health
12Risk-marker/comorbidity research; event prevention requires separate evidence.
Reasons people report using it; these do not establish benefit.12
Evidence limits
View research →Research-market product identity, purity and formulation cannot be established from a publication.2
4 distinct primary sources or abstracts checked. Evidence may concern a parent compound, individual blend ingredient, animal, or cell model; it does not necessarily establish a benefit for this exact product.
Evidence definitions →Key safety information
All risks →MTC/MEN2 contraindication
Personal/family medullary thyroid carcinoma or MEN2 is contraindicated.1
FDA approved in 2026 as Foundayo for chronic weight management in qualifying adults.
Molecular information
Amino-acid sequence
Not applicable: this compound is not a single peptide.
Formula, sequence notation & identity
Orforglipron calcium
The labeled tablet expresses dose as orforglipron; salt mass differs.
How long does it stay in the body?
Illustrative model using reported human data.
Five half-lives in this simplified model. This is not a prediction of when effects stop.
Evidence and model details
39 hours is a display midpoint, not a measured mean. Most label PK used the corresponding investigational formulation.
Population: Human studies summarized in the Foundayo label
100 × 2−time / half-life. Time zero is a reference level, not the moment of administration. Absorption, repeated dosing, metabolites and clinical effects are not modeled. Five half-lives leaves 3.125%, not zero. This curve cannot determine a dosing interval.
This value is reported by a secondary reference. The stated attribution has not been independently verified as a route- and formulation-matched human PK measurement.
Illustrative scenario using an unverified reference estimate. Shading shows the reported half-life range. No midpoint is assumed.
Five half-lives in this estimated model. This is not a prediction of when effects stop.
Evidence and model details
Population: Not established by the reference estimate
Source’s stated attribution: Eli Lilly Phase 1 Studies
Source’s reported peak time: 8 hrs. This has not been independently confirmed and is not used in the elimination curve.
100 × 2−time / half-life. Time zero is a reference level, not the moment of administration. Absorption, repeated dosing, metabolites and clinical effects are not modeled. Five half-lives leaves 3.125%, not zero. This curve cannot determine a dosing interval.
What to expect
Study outcomes
Cardiovascular noninferiority, not superiority
ACHIEVE-4 in adults with type 2 diabetes and elevated cardiovascular risk met its noninferiority endpoint versus insulin glargine. Its confidence interval includes no difference.2
Capsule trial doses differ from marketed tablets
ACHIEVE-5 used 3, 12 and 36 mg investigational daily doses with insulin glargine. Those strengths must not be substituted into the Foundayo tablet schedule.3
Reported timelines
Reference & communityWeeks 1–4; 4–12; 36–72
Source describes appetite/GI adaptation then gradual weight response; no individual guarantee.12
These are reported timelines, not a prediction of your response.
Community poll 10 topics · Pep-Pedia snapshot
Voluntary, unverified reports. These percentages do not measure effectiveness or safety.
Experience
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
Duration of use
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
Age range
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
Gender
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
Primary goal
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
Effectiveness
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
Side effects
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
Dosage frequency
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
Would recommend
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
How discovered
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
Source & limitations
The source displays “52 responses” for this profile. This is not a confirmed participant count or a denominator for individual questions.
- Voluntary self-reports from Pep-Pedia visitors; identity, treatment, outcomes and timing are unverified. These data are not efficacy or safety estimates.
- The source displays a profile-wide response label, not a confirmed unique participant count. It stays unchanged across questions. Question-specific denominators and absolute option counts are not exposed.
- Only the top five categories are displayed for some questions. Extra categories are retained as an undisplayed-category count; their labels and percentages are unavailable.
- Displayed percentages are rounded. They may not total 100%, especially where categories are hidden.
- This is a dated snapshot, not a live survey or current recommendation.
Doses & schedules
Compare purpose, amount, route, frequency, and duration.
Source corrections
Source compatibility labels are not safety findings; formulation-specific tablet and trial-capsule doses differ.
Additional interaction rows follow the July 2026 FDA label; reference-only pairing claims remain separate.
Scroll to compare all columns →
| Route | Dose | Frequency | Goal / evidence | Duration | References |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| OralOral tablet | 0.8 mg — initiation | Once daily | Labeled weight managementProduct label | Ongoing clinician assessment | 1 |
Population Qualifying adults Context Escalation steps require at least 30 days; trial capsules use different strengths. Source dose wording Starts 0.8 mg; labeled maximum 17.2 mg | |||||
| OralOral tablet | 17.2 mg — labeled maximum | Once daily | Labeled weight managementProduct label | Ongoing clinician assessment | 1 |
Population Qualifying adults Context Escalation steps require at least 30 days; trial capsules use different strengths. Source dose wording Starts 0.8 mg; labeled maximum 17.2 mg | |||||
| OralOral tablet | 0.8 mg dailyStarting dose | Once daily, any time | Starting dose (first 30 days)Reference report | Long-term continuous therapy (72+ weeks studied) | 12 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. Source compatibility labels are not safety findings; formulation-specific tablet and trial-capsule doses differ. Additional interaction rows follow the July 2026 FDA label; reference-only pairing claims remain separate. Source tabs Oral | |||||
| OralOral tablet | 2.5 mg daily | Once daily, any time | First titration (after 30 days)Reference report | Long-term continuous therapy (72+ weeks studied) | 12 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. Source compatibility labels are not safety findings; formulation-specific tablet and trial-capsule doses differ. Additional interaction rows follow the July 2026 FDA label; reference-only pairing claims remain separate. Source tabs Oral | |||||
| OralOral tablet | 5.5 mg daily | Once daily, any time | Second titration (after 60 days)Reference report | Long-term continuous therapy (72+ weeks studied) | 12 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. Source compatibility labels are not safety findings; formulation-specific tablet and trial-capsule doses differ. Additional interaction rows follow the July 2026 FDA label; reference-only pairing claims remain separate. Source tabs Oral | |||||
| OralOral tablet | 9 mg daily | Once daily, any time | Third titration (based on response)Reference report | Long-term continuous therapy (72+ weeks studied) | 12 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. Source compatibility labels are not safety findings; formulation-specific tablet and trial-capsule doses differ. Additional interaction rows follow the July 2026 FDA label; reference-only pairing claims remain separate. Source tabs Oral | |||||
| OralOral tablet | 14.5 mg daily | Once daily, any time | Fourth titration (based on response)Reference report | Long-term continuous therapy (72+ weeks studied) | 12 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. Source compatibility labels are not safety findings; formulation-specific tablet and trial-capsule doses differ. Additional interaction rows follow the July 2026 FDA label; reference-only pairing claims remain separate. Source tabs Oral | |||||
| OralOral tablet | 17.2 mg daily | Once daily, any time | Maximum approved doseReference report | Long-term continuous therapy (72+ weeks studied) | 12 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. Source compatibility labels are not safety findings; formulation-specific tablet and trial-capsule doses differ. Additional interaction rows follow the July 2026 FDA label; reference-only pairing claims remain separate. Source tabs Oral | |||||
No protocols match these filters.
Study and label doses retain their study context. Reference reports are unvalidated practices, not personal treatment instructions. Ranges remain ranges; escalation stages are labeled.
Reported use periods and breaks. These do not establish a safe cycle or prove that breaks prevent tolerance.
Oral
- Use period
- Long-term continuous therapy (72+ weeks studied)
- Break
- Consult prescriber before discontinuation to manage potential rebound effects
Reported timing
Any time of day, with or without food, with or without water
Side effects & safety
MTC/MEN2 contraindication
Personal/family medullary thyroid carcinoma or MEN2 is contraindicated.
1GI adverse effects
Nausea, vomiting and diarrhea are common class-related concerns; see full label.
1Major label risks
MTC/MEN2 contraindication, pancreatitis, severe GI disease, dehydration/kidney injury, hypoglycemia, allergy, gallbladder and aspiration concerns.
Reported effects
GI symptoms, headache/fatigue and hair loss; pregnancy and severe hepatic impairment warrant particular review.
Urgent symptoms
Severe abdominal/back pain, neck symptoms, confusion/low glucose, breathing/swelling, reduced urine or vision changes.
Not a complete safety screen. Discuss health decisions with a qualified clinician.
Combinations & interactions
18 entriesCheck cautions and reported pairings. A compatibility claim does not establish that a combination is safe.
Semaglutide
Avoidance reportedOther GLP-1 use not recommended.12
Reference report · Pep-Pedia label: Avoid CombinationTirzepatide
Avoidance reportedOverlapping GLP-1 action.12
Reference report · Pep-Pedia label: Avoid CombinationLiraglutide
Avoidance reportedOverlapping GLP-1 action.12
Reference report · Pep-Pedia label: Avoid CombinationInsulin
Caution reportedHypoglycemia risk.12
Reference report · Pep-Pedia label: Monitor CombinationSulfonylureas
Label / primary sourceHypoglycemia risk.14
Primary sourceOral contraceptives
Label / primary sourceBackup contraception 30 days after starting/escalation.14
Primary sourceStrong CYP3A4 inhibitors
Label / primary sourceFoundayo maximum 9 mg/day; clinician review.14
Primary sourceStrong CYP3A4 inhibitors also inhibiting OATP1B
Label / primary sourceJuly 2026 FDA label.14
Primary sourceStrong CYP3A4 inducers
Label / primary sourceJuly 2026 FDA label.14
Primary sourceModerate CYP3A4 inducers
Label / primary sourceMay reduce effectiveness; clinician review.14
Primary sourceSimvastatin
Label / primary sourceMaximum 20 mg/day with Foundayo.14
Primary sourceCYP3A4 inhibitors/inducers; simvastatin
Label warningClinically important interactions require product-specific prescribing review.1
Research contextMetformin
Unverified pairingDiabetes-context co-treatment.12
Reference report · Pep-Pedia label: SynergisticDapagliflozin
Unverified pairingDiabetes-context research.12
Reference report · Pep-Pedia label: CompatibleCJC-1295
Unverified pairingLean-mass claim unproven.12
Reference report · Pep-Pedia label: CompatibleIpamorelin
Unverified pairingLean-mass claim unproven.12
Reference report · Pep-Pedia label: CompatibleBPC-157
Unverified pairingUntested pairing.12
Reference report · Pep-Pedia label: Compatible5-Amino-1MQ
Unverified pairingUntested pairing.12
Reference report · Pep-Pedia label: CompatibleNo matching interactions. Try another name or filter.
Reconstitution
No bacteriostatic-water preparation; oral use only.1
Reference preparation details
Reported handling information, not a validated formulation or instruction to prepare an injectable product.
Oral
The source describes an oral tablet requiring no mixing.
- Form
- Source describes a prepared product
- Reported parameters
- Its reported handling includes swallowing intact and no fasting restriction. · Reported storage: original packaging at 15–30°C, protected from moisture and heat.
Missed-dose and product-handling instructions should be checked against the exact current approved label.
Appearance & documentation
Appearance and a purity certificate cannot establish sterility, identity, or suitability for injection.
Available forms
Foundayo tablets
0.8, 2.5, 5.5, 9, 14.5 and 17.2 mg strengths.1
Packaging examples, not a market survey. Approved and research products are not interchangeable.
Storage after mixing
Reconstituted research vials
The available sources describe prepared products or do not establish a reconstitution method.12
Storage depends on the formulation, diluent, container, and handling. Follow the specific product label or pharmacist’s instructions.
Research findings
Human trialsSource context
Source compatibility labels are not safety findings; formulation-specific tablet and trial-capsule doses differ.
Additional interaction rows follow the July 2026 FDA label; reference-only pairing claims remain separate.
Compound identity & other names
Foundayo is an FDA-approved oral weight-management medicine. The commercial tablet and investigational capsules used in trials have different dose strengths.
Other names: Orforglipron (Foundayo)
FDA approved in 2026 as Foundayo for chronic weight management in qualifying adults.
How it may work
GLP-1 signaling affects appetite, glucose and gastric emptying; receptor-bias hypotheses do not prove superior long-term outcomes.12
Cardiovascular noninferiority, not superiority
ACHIEVE-4 in adults with type 2 diabetes and elevated cardiovascular risk met its noninferiority endpoint versus insulin glargine. Its confidence interval includes no difference.
2Capsule trial doses differ from marketed tablets
ACHIEVE-5 used 3, 12 and 36 mg investigational daily doses with insulin glargine. Those strengths must not be substituted into the Foundayo tablet schedule.
3Source checks & newer research
FDA approval of Foundayo, April 1, 2026
Approved with reduced-calorie diet and activity for adult obesity, or overweight with at least one weight-related comorbidity. This is not blanket approval of all source-listed uses.
FDA regulatory announcement13Foundayo prescribing information, revised July 2026
Interaction details omitted from the reference include strong CYP3A4 inhibitors/inducers and simvastatin. Strong CYP3A4 inhibitors cap Foundayo at 9 mg/day; avoid inhibitors also blocking OATP1B and strong CYP3A4 inducers. Simvastatin is limited to 20 mg/day. The label also specifies oral-contraceptive backup for 30 days after starting and each escalation. Clinician/pharmacist review is needed for specific medicines.
FDA prescribing information14Research areas and evidence gaps
Chronic weight management. Labeled adult indication.1
- Research-market product identity, purity and formulation cannot be established from a publication.
Community reports Unvalidated
Pep-Pedia describes community interest and schedules; these are secondary reports, not measured clinical outcomes.4
No representative survey, independently verified products, or controlled outcomes.
Search coverage and review status
The targeted check identified relevant additional literature or current regulatory information; checked findings are separated from retained bibliography-only references.
- Checked
- 2026-10-12
- Search
- orforglipron 2026 trial site:pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Catalog
- Pep-Pedia ↗ · 6 listed references retained
- Targeted search, not an exhaustive systematic review.
- Bibliography-only entries are retained for traceability and are not treated as verified findings.
AI-prepared summaries. Independent medical editorial review is pending.
References
Original sources and review status. Open a reference to read its summary.
1Foundayo US prescribing information, revised July 2026Primary source checked
FDA label for oral tablets; approved strengths differ from investigational capsules. Includes CYP3A4 and other interaction precautions.
Additional research · Checked 2026-10-12
2ACHIEVE-4 cardiovascular safety versus insulin glargineAbstract checked
September 2026 phase 3 report: MACE-4 noninferiority to insulin glargine, HR 0.84 (95% CI 0.59–1.20); does not establish superiority.
ACHIEVE-4 in adults with type 2 diabetes and elevated cardiovascular risk met its noninferiority endpoint versus insulin glargine. Its confidence interval includes no difference.
Additional research · Checked 2026-10-12
3ACHIEVE-5: orforglipron added to insulin glargineAbstract checked
40-week randomized trial tested investigational 3, 12 or 36 mg daily capsules with insulin glargine, improving HbA1c and weight compared with placebo.
ACHIEVE-5 used 3, 12 and 36 mg investigational daily doses with insulin glargine. Those strengths must not be substituted into the Foundayo tablet schedule.
Additional research · Checked 2026-10-12
4Pep-Pedia: Orforglipron / Foundayo — community referenceCommunity source checked
Accessed October 12, 2026. Secondary descriptions and bibliography; community schedules are unvalidated reports, not recommendations.
5ATTAIN-1 Phase 3 Trial (Obesity) - 2025Pep-Pedia report · Primary source not checked
Pep-Pedia reports: The source reports 11.1% weight loss at the highest arm versus 2.1% on placebo, but labels formulation doses as approved; trial and label dosing need separate verification.
Reported population / model
3,127 adults with obesity without diabetes
Reported study details
72-week study · FDA-approved doses: 5.5mg, 9mg, 17.2mg daily
Pep-Pedia supplies no original study link for this card. Study identity, design, doses and result remain unverified.
Read the Pep-Pedia report ↗Pep-Pedia reference card; original summary of its reported findings · Checked 2026-10-12
6ATTAIN-2 Phase 3 Trial (Obesity + T2DM) - 2025Pep-Pedia report · Primary source not checked
Pep-Pedia reports: The source reports up to 9.6% weight loss with diabetes/obesity; its dose-conversion and approval labels must not replace a verified trial or product label.
Reported population / model
1,613 adults with obesity and type 2 diabetes
Reported study details
72-week study · FDA-approved doses: 5.5mg, 9mg, 17.2mg daily
Pep-Pedia supplies no original study link for this card. Study identity, design, doses and result remain unverified.
Read the Pep-Pedia report ↗Pep-Pedia reference card; original summary of its reported findings · Checked 2026-10-12
7ACHIEVE-1 Phase 3 Trial (Type 2 Diabetes) - 2025Pep-Pedia report · Primary source not checked
Pep-Pedia reports: The trial reportedly lowered HbA1c by 1.3–1.6 points versus 0.4 with placebo, with up to 7.9% weight loss.
Reported population / model
559 adults with T2DM
Reported study details
40-week study · 3mg, 12mg, 36mg daily doses
Pep-Pedia supplies no original study link for this card. Study identity, design, doses and result remain unverified.
Read the Pep-Pedia report ↗Pep-Pedia reference card; original summary of its reported findings · Checked 2026-10-12
8Phase 2 Obesity Study - 2023Pep-Pedia report · Primary source not checked
Pep-Pedia reports: The source reports up to 14.7% mean weight loss at 36 weeks in an early obesity dose-ranging trial.
Reported population / model
272 adults with obesity
Reported study details
36-week study · Multiple dose escalations to 45mg
Pep-Pedia supplies no original study link for this card. Study identity, design, doses and result remain unverified.
Read the Pep-Pedia report ↗Pep-Pedia reference card; original summary of its reported findings · Checked 2026-10-12
9Phase 2 Type 2 Diabetes Study - 2023Pep-Pedia report · Primary source not checked
Pep-Pedia reports: The phase 2 comparison reportedly improved HbA1c and weight against placebo and dulaglutide; exact dose-specific effects are not supplied here.
Reported population / model
Adult T2DM patients
Reported study details
26-week study · Doses 3-45mg vs placebo and dulaglutide 1.5mg comparator
Pep-Pedia supplies no original study link for this card. Study identity, design, doses and result remain unverified.
Read the Pep-Pedia report ↗Pep-Pedia reference card; original summary of its reported findings · Checked 2026-10-12
10Phase 1 Safety and Pharmacokinetics Studies - 2023Pep-Pedia report · Primary source not checked
Pep-Pedia reports: The source reports a 29–49-hour half-life and 79.1% oral bioavailability; food effects and formulation-specific exposure require primary confirmation.
Reported population / model
92 healthy adults
Reported study details
Single and multiple ascending dose studies
Pep-Pedia supplies no original study link for this card. Study identity, design, doses and result remain unverified.
Read the Pep-Pedia report ↗Pep-Pedia reference card; original summary of its reported findings · Checked 2026-10-12
11Pep-Pedia: Orforglipron / Foundayo — reported pharmacokineticsReference estimate; not independently verified human PKCommunity source checked
Lists a half-life of 1.2 days – 2.0 days and a peak time of 8 hrs. Stated attribution: Eli Lilly Phase 1 Studies. This value is reported by a secondary reference. The stated attribution has not been independently verified as a route- and formulation-matched human PK measurement. Five half-lives is not complete clearance, and the source’s “cleared” value is not used as a measured endpoint.
Secondary reference page checked; the underlying quantitative claim is not independently confirmed. · Checked 2026-10-12
12Pep-Pedia: Orforglipron / Foundayo — route-specific referenceReference page checked; underlying claims require separate verification.Community source checked
Source page checked across available routes. Protocols, cycles, storage, mechanisms and pairing claims are secondary reports; checking the page does not independently validate those claims. Original concise summaries are used here.
Content coverage audit · Checked 2026-10-12
13FDA approval of Foundayo, April 1, 2026Primary source checked
Approved with reduced-calorie diet and activity for adult obesity, or overweight with at least one weight-related comorbidity. This is not blanket approval of all source-listed uses.
Approved with reduced-calorie diet and activity for adult obesity, or overweight with at least one weight-related comorbidity. This is not blanket approval of all source-listed uses.
Additional primary-source check · Checked 2026-10-12
14Foundayo prescribing information, revised July 2026Primary source checked
Interaction details omitted from the reference include strong CYP3A4 inhibitors/inducers and simvastatin. Strong CYP3A4 inhibitors cap Foundayo at 9 mg/day; avoid inhibitors also blocking OATP1B and strong CYP3A4 inducers. Simvastatin is limited to 20 mg/day. The label also specifies oral-contraceptive backup for 30 days after starting and each escalation. Clinician/pharmacist review is needed for specific medicines.
Interaction details omitted from the reference include strong CYP3A4 inhibitors/inducers and simvastatin. Strong CYP3A4 inhibitors cap Foundayo at 9 mg/day; avoid inhibitors also blocking OATP1B and strong CYP3A4 inducers. Simvastatin is limited to 20 mg/day. The label also specifies oral-contraceptive backup for 30 days after starting and each escalation. Clinician/pharmacist review is needed for specific medicines.
Additional primary-source check · Checked 2026-10-12