Sexual effects
1Spontaneous erections were observed in the pilot; this is not an approved treatment indication.
Unapproved melanocortin agonist used in community tanning/sexual-function practices. Nasal and topical products lack established human efficacy or dosing equivalence.
Spontaneous erections were observed in the pilot; this is not an approved treatment indication.
Tanning and localized/vitiligo claims; not proven UV protection.
Libido/arousal/erection effects, with priapism risk.
Appetite, fat/glucose claims require stronger clinical evidence.
Reasons people report using it; these do not establish benefit.15
Long-term risk, reliable product quality, and benefit-risk balance for tanning.1
5 distinct primary sources or abstracts checked. Evidence may concern a parent compound, individual blend ingredient, animal, or cell model; it does not necessarily establish a benefit for this exact product.
Evidence definitions →The pilot reported nausea at most dose levels; fatigue or sleepiness occurred at higher doses.1
No FDA-approved Melanotan II product. Afamelanotide/Scenesse approval does not apply to Melanotan II.
Residue count only · sequence not verified4
An exact sequence has not been verified for this formulation.
Melanotan II, a cyclic, acetylated melanocortin analog with an amidated terminus.
Parent-peptide identity; a salt or formulated product can have a different total mass.
The source identifies this as a class-level inference, not a measured half-life for this compound. Pep-Pedia identifies this as a class inference from human melanotan-I data. It is not a measured melanotan-II half-life.
Illustrative scenario using an unverified reference estimate.
Five half-lives in this estimated model. This is not a prediction of when effects stop.
Population: Not established by the reference estimate
Source’s stated attribution: Dorr et al. 1996 J Natl Cancer Inst 88(17):1196-1201 (MT-I human subQ PK; class inference applied to MT-II)
Source’s reported peak time: 30 min. This has not been independently confirmed and is not used in the elimination curve.
100 × 2−time / half-life. Time zero is a reference level, not the moment of administration. Absorption, repeated dosing, metabolites and clinical effects are not modeled. Five half-lives leaves 3.125%, not zero. This curve cannot determine a dosing interval.
Two of three volunteers had increased pigmentation one week after the pilot course. The sample cannot establish a reliable expected response.1
Voluntary, unverified reports. These percentages do not measure effectiveness or safety.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
The source hides 2 additional categories. Their labels and percentages are unavailable.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
The source hides 1 additional categories. Their labels and percentages are unavailable.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
The source hides 38 additional categories. Their labels and percentages are unavailable.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
The source hides 10 additional categories. Their labels and percentages are unavailable.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
The source hides 23 additional categories. Their labels and percentages are unavailable.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
The source hides 7 additional categories. Their labels and percentages are unavailable.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
The source hides 7 additional categories. Their labels and percentages are unavailable.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
The source hides 1 additional categories. Their labels and percentages are unavailable.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
The source displays “1596 responses” for this profile. This is not a confirmed participant count or a denominator for individual questions.
Compare purpose, amount, route, frequency, and duration.
Source compatibility/photoprotection claims do not establish safety; tanning does not remove UV risk.
Scroll to compare all columns →
| Route | Dose | Frequency | Goal / evidence | Duration | References |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SubQSubcutaneous injection | 0.01 mg/kg — initial exposure | Initial active dose | Assess tanning and acute tolerabilityHuman study | 2 weeks | 1 |
Population Three healthy male volunteers Context Small dose-escalation experiment; not a home-use regimen. Source dose wording 0.01 mg/kg initially; increased in 0.005 mg/kg steps to 0.025 or 0.03 mg/kg | |||||
| SubQSubcutaneous injection | 0.025 mg/kg — escalation endpoint | After 0.005 mg/kg escalation steps | Assess tanning and acute tolerabilityHuman study | 2 weeks | 1 |
Population Three healthy male volunteers Context Small dose-escalation experiment; not a home-use regimen. Source dose wording 0.01 mg/kg initially; increased in 0.005 mg/kg steps to 0.025 or 0.03 mg/kg | |||||
| SubQSubcutaneous injection | 0.03 mg/kg — escalation endpoint | After 0.005 mg/kg escalation steps | Assess tanning and acute tolerabilityHuman study | 2 weeks | 1 |
Population Three healthy male volunteers Context Small dose-escalation experiment; not a home-use regimen. Source dose wording 0.01 mg/kg initially; increased in 0.005 mg/kg steps to 0.025 or 0.03 mg/kg | |||||
| SubQ | 0.25 mg | Daily | Initial LoadingReference report | 4-8 weeks on, 4 weeks off | 15 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. Source compatibility/photoprotection claims do not establish safety; tanning does not remove UV risk. Source tabs Injectable | |||||
| SubQ | 0.5-1 mg | 2-3x weekly | Tanning MaintenanceReference report | 4-8 weeks on, 4 weeks off | 15 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. Source compatibility/photoprotection claims do not establish safety; tanning does not remove UV risk. Source tabs Injectable | |||||
| SubQ | 0.5-1 mg | As needed | Sexual EnhancementReference report | 4-8 weeks on, 4 weeks off | 15 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. Source compatibility/photoprotection claims do not establish safety; tanning does not remove UV risk. Source tabs Injectable | |||||
| SubQ | 0.1-0.25 mg | Every other day | Minimal Side EffectsReference report | 4-8 weeks on, 4 weeks off | 15 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. Source compatibility/photoprotection claims do not establish safety; tanning does not remove UV risk. Source tabs Injectable | |||||
| SubQ | 0.5 mg | 2x weekly | PhotoprotectionReference report | 4-8 weeks on, 4 weeks off | 15 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. Source compatibility/photoprotection claims do not establish safety; tanning does not remove UV risk. Source tabs Injectable | |||||
| TopicalTopical cream | 0.5-1 mg/ml | Once daily | Facial TanningReference report | 6-12 weeks continuous use | 15 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. Source compatibility/photoprotection claims do not establish safety; tanning does not remove UV risk. Source tabs Topical | |||||
| TopicalTopical solution | 1-2 mg/ml | Twice daily | Body ApplicationReference report | 6-12 weeks continuous use | 15 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. Source compatibility/photoprotection claims do not establish safety; tanning does not remove UV risk. Source tabs Topical | |||||
| TopicalTopical + UV | 2 mg/ml | Twice daily | Vitiligo PatchesReference report | 6-12 weeks continuous use | 15 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. Source compatibility/photoprotection claims do not establish safety; tanning does not remove UV risk. Source tabs Topical | |||||
| IntranasalNasal spray | 0.5 mg | Once daily | Initial ToleranceReference report | 4-6 weeks | 15 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. Source compatibility/photoprotection claims do not establish safety; tanning does not remove UV risk. Source tabs Nasal | |||||
| IntranasalNasal spray | 1 mg | Daily or as needed | Standard ProtocolReference report | 4-6 weeks | 15 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. Source compatibility/photoprotection claims do not establish safety; tanning does not remove UV risk. Source tabs Nasal | |||||
| IntranasalNasal spray | 1-2 mg | 2-3x weekly | MaintenanceReference report | 4-6 weeks | 15 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. Source compatibility/photoprotection claims do not establish safety; tanning does not remove UV risk. Source tabs Nasal | |||||
No protocols match these filters.
Study and label doses retain their study context. Reference reports are unvalidated practices, not personal treatment instructions. Ranges remain ranges; escalation stages are labeled.
Reported use periods and breaks. These do not establish a safe cycle or prove that breaks prevent tolerance.
Morning for tanning effects, evening for sexual effects (or 2-4 hours before)
Apply to clean skin, allow to absorb before sun exposure
Morning for tanning, 1-2 hours before for sexual effects
The pilot reported nausea at most dose levels; fatigue or sleepiness occurred at higher doses.
1The pilot observed intermittent erections over 1–5 hours after dosing; FDA also cites published priapism reports.
12FDA lists reports including melanoma, neurologic illness and sympathomimetic toxicity. Reports do not establish incidence or prove causation.
2FDA flags immune-reaction risks associated with peptide aggregation and impurities in compounded products.
2A case report found persistent gum discoloration after discontinuation; this was pigmentation, not a diagnosis of melanoma.
5Nausea, flushing, fatigue, headache and blood-pressure changes; changing moles require assessment.
Painful prolonged erection, chest pain, severe headache/vision change, persistent vomiting or allergy.
Skin irritation/patchy pigment; nasal bleeding, infection, smell loss or congestion.
Not a complete safety screen. Discuss health decisions with a qualified clinician.
Check cautions and reported pairings. A compatibility claim does not establish that a combination is safe.
Overlapping receptor/BP effects.15
Reference report · Pep-Pedia label: Use CautionOverlapping receptor stimulation.15
Reference report · Pep-Pedia label: Avoid CombinationPriapism/cardiovascular concern.15
Reference report · Pep-Pedia label: Monitor CombinationUnpredictable pressure effects.15
Reference report · Evidence context: Monitor combinationExcess intake reduction.15
Reference report · Pep-Pedia label: Monitor CombinationSafety unestablished.15
Reference report · Pep-Pedia label: CompatibleSafety unestablished.15
Reference report · Pep-Pedia label: CompatibleNo direct evidence cited.15
Reference report · Evidence context: UnknownCombination safety was not established in the cited single-compound pilot. Similar reported effects do not validate stacking.1
Research contextNo matching interactions. Try another name or filter.
Enter your peptide amount and container size. Get a volume and a simple measurement scale.
For dry powder, assuming negligible volume displacement. Use bacteriostatic water only if the formulation specifies it.
Amounts below are total blend mass. Ingredient amounts are listed separately.
| Pen units | Amount | Volume |
|---|
Enter an amount to calculate its volume and device setting.
The suggestion favors a simple 1, 2, or 5 × power-of-ten amount per unit, then the largest final volume that fits. It does not choose a dose or a biologically suitable concentration.
The water estimate applies only to dry powder and assumes negligible powder displacement. Final solution volume, specified diluent, solubility, stability, sterility, cartridge compatibility, and working fill limits must be established separately. No allowance is made for priming or transfer losses.
V2 measurement specification ↗Bacteriostatic water: formulation instructions ↗No formulation-specific human reconstitution instructions were verified for this research powder.1
A compatible solvent, concentration, preservative and beyond-use period cannot be inferred from vial mass. The cited source does not validate a universal bacteriostatic-water recipe.1
Reported handling information, not a validated formulation or instruction to prepare an injectable product.
Pep-Pedia describes preparation for this route; product-specific stability has not been independently verified.
The source describes gentle mixing and avoiding vigorous shaking.
The topical steps describe a propylene-glycol vehicle and penetration-enhancing cream base.
The generic BAC-water banner is not treated as topical formulation guidance.
Pep-Pedia reports a nasal concentration and assumed pump volume.
Appearance and a purity certificate cannot establish sterility, identity, or suitability for injection.
Packaging examples, not a market survey. Approved and research products are not interchangeable.
The checked sources do not establish how long this research preparation remains stable and sterile after mixing.15
Refrigerate reconstituted peptide, protect from light
Refrigerate cream, use within 30 days
Refrigerate spray bottle, keep upright
Storage depends on the formulation, diluent, container, and handling. Follow the specific product label or pharmacist’s instructions.
Device units measure volume. Concentration determines the amount in mg.
Documented 1-unit V2 models
Use the numbered dose window. Whole-unit settings only; confirm the specification for your exact model.
100 units = 1 mL
Read the printed unit scale. A small line may represent 0.5, 1, or 2 units depending on the syringe.
mL syringes and calibrated pipettes
Drops, sprays and other pen clicks need their own verified volume per increment. They have no universal conversion.
3 mL is cartridge capacity. It does not mean you must prepare or load 3 mL. The original vial and the pen cartridge are different containers. This reference compares measurement scales; it does not establish product or route compatibility.
Source compatibility/photoprotection claims do not establish safety; tanning does not remove UV risk.
A melanocortin agonist studied for pigmentation and erectile responses. Early human findings are small and short term, while serious adverse events have been reported; it is not an established tanning medicine.
Other names: Melanotan 2 · MT-2 · MT-II · MT2
No FDA-approved Melanotan II product. Afamelanotide/Scenesse approval does not apply to Melanotan II.
MC1 pigmentation and broader melanocortin appetite/arousal signaling; route-specific exposure remains uncertain.15
A 1996 phase I pilot found increased pigmentation in two of three men. Nausea occurred at most tested doses; the highest dose caused moderate sleepiness and fatigue in one of two recipients.
1FDA cites reports of melanoma, priapism, and serious neurologic/toxic reactions. Case reports flag possible harm without establishing frequency or proving causation.
2A 2026 case describes gum and cheek pigmentation during self-injection. Gum pigmentation was still visible three months after stopping. The report cannot establish how frequently this occurs.
5Sexual effects. Spontaneous erections were observed in the pilot; this is not an approved treatment indication.1
PepPedia describes tanning, appetite, and libido use; the claimed benefits are broader than the pilot evidence.6
PepPedia's editorial protocol summary, not measured community consensus. Benefits, product identity, and safety are not independently verified; these reported practices are not recommendations.
Added a 2026 case of persistent oral pigmentation; a case report cannot estimate incidence or causation.
AI-prepared summaries. Independent medical editorial review is pending.
Original sources and review status. Open a reference to read its summary.
A three-man pilot observed pigmentation and erectile effects, alongside nausea and dose-limiting fatigue; it cannot establish chronic tanning safety.
A 1996 phase I pilot found increased pigmentation in two of three men. Nausea occurred at most tested doses; the highest dose caused moderate sleepiness and fatigue in one of two recipients.
Regulatory safety assessment.
FDA cites reports of melanoma, priapism, and serious neurologic/toxic reactions. Case reports flag possible harm without establishing frequency or proving causation.
FDA describes Melanotan II as an unapproved new drug.
Chemical identity record: cyclic seven-residue peptide, C50H69N15O9, average molecular weight 1024.2 g/mol.
One patient developed gingival and cheek pigmentation after 64 days of self-administered injections. Cheek pigmentation nearly cleared after stopping; gingival discoloration persisted at three months. A case cannot estimate incidence.
A 2026 case describes gum and cheek pigmentation during self-injection. Gum pigmentation was still visible three months after stopping. The report cannot establish how frequently this occurs.
Additional research · Checked 2026-10-12
Secondary editorial account of discussed practices; not a clinical trial or representative survey.
Lists a 10 mg lyophilized vial. Quantity examples only; vendor quality and suitability are not endorsed.
Pep-Pedia reports: Transient pulse and blood-pressure increases are claimed in monitored humans, but the card provides no original study link or event rates.
Reported population / model
Human
Reported study details
Various doses · Acute monitoring · Mild BP elevation
Pep-Pedia supplies no original study link for this card. Study identity, design, doses and result remain unverified. No study link supplied
Read the Pep-Pedia report ↗Pep-Pedia reference card; original summary of its reported findings · Checked 2026-10-12
Pep-Pedia reports: The source claims less UV erythema in fair-skinned people; no study link is supplied and tanning does not establish melanoma protection.
Reported population / model
Human (Fitzpatrick Type I-II)
Reported study details
0.1mg/kg · 3 months · Reduced sunburn incidence
Pep-Pedia supplies no original study link for this card. Study identity, design, doses and result remain unverified. No study link supplied
Read the Pep-Pedia report ↗Pep-Pedia reference card; original summary of its reported findings · Checked 2026-10-12
Pep-Pedia reports: The source attributes a female-arousal trial to Melanotan II; compound attribution needs verification because related melanocortins have separate trials.
Reported population / model
Human (Female)
Reported study details
0.025mg/kg · Single dose · 73% reported arousal
Pep-Pedia supplies no original study link for this card. Study identity, design, doses and result remain unverified. No study link supplied
Read the Pep-Pedia report ↗Pep-Pedia reference card; original summary of its reported findings · Checked 2026-10-12
Pep-Pedia reports: A 15% food-intake reduction and modest weight loss are claimed; the original human trial is not linked.
Reported population / model
Human
Reported study details
1mg daily · 6 weeks · 15% reduction in caloric intake
Pep-Pedia supplies no original study link for this card. Study identity, design, doses and result remain unverified. No study link supplied
Read the Pep-Pedia report ↗Pep-Pedia reference card; original summary of its reported findings · Checked 2026-10-12
Pep-Pedia reports: The source reports an 80% erectile response in men and onset within one to two hours; study duration and compound attribution need verification.
Reported population / model
Human
Reported study details
0.025mg/kg · 3 months · 80% response rate
Pep-Pedia supplies no original study link for this card. Study identity, design, doses and result remain unverified. No study link supplied
Read the Pep-Pedia report ↗Pep-Pedia reference card; original summary of its reported findings · Checked 2026-10-12
Pep-Pedia reports: Greater pigmentation and UV-response measures are claimed; the dose/formulation may overlap Melanotan I research and needs confirmation.
Reported population / model
Human
Reported study details
0.16mg/kg daily · 10 days · Increased melanin density
Pep-Pedia supplies no original study link for this card. Study identity, design, doses and result remain unverified. No study link supplied
Read the Pep-Pedia report ↗Pep-Pedia reference card; original summary of its reported findings · Checked 2026-10-12
Lists a half-life of 1 hr and a peak time of 30 min. Stated attribution: Dorr et al. 1996 J Natl Cancer Inst 88(17):1196-1201 (MT-I human subQ PK; class inference applied to MT-II). The source identifies this as a class-level inference, not a measured half-life for this compound. Pep-Pedia identifies this as a class inference from human melanotan-I data. It is not a measured melanotan-II half-life. Five half-lives is not complete clearance, and the source’s “cleared” value is not used as a measured endpoint.
Secondary reference page checked; the underlying quantitative claim is not independently confirmed. · Checked 2026-10-12
Source page checked across available routes. Protocols, cycles, storage, mechanisms and pairing claims are secondary reports; checking the page does not independently validate those claims. Original concise summaries are used here.
Content coverage audit · Checked 2026-10-12