Type 2 diabetes
2Mounjaro indication; prescribing depends on age and formulation.
A dual GIP/GLP-1 medicine with product-specific approvals for diabetes, weight management and obstructive sleep apnea in adults with obesity.
Mounjaro indication; prescribing depends on age and formulation.
Zepbound is approved for specified obesity/overweight populations.
Zepbound indication in adults with obesity and moderate-to-severe OSA.
Appetite, adiposity and maintenance; muscle preservation is not guaranteed.
Glycemic control and insulin-resistance research.
BP, lipids and risk outcomes; distinguish measured markers from approved indications.
Reasons people report using it; these do not establish benefit.14
Averages vary by population, adherence and analysis method.1
2 distinct primary sources or abstracts checked. Evidence may concern a parent compound, individual blend ingredient, animal, or cell model; it does not necessarily establish a benefit for this exact product.
Evidence definitions →Nausea, diarrhea, vomiting, constipation and abdominal symptoms.2
FDA-approved products: Mounjaro for type 2 diabetes; Zepbound for eligible adults with obesity/overweight and for moderate-to-severe OSA in adults with obesity.
An exact sequence has not been verified for this formulation.
Lipidated GIP/GLP-1 receptor agonist.
Chemical identity does not establish vial quality.
39 amino acids · 4,813.55 Da
His-Aib-Glu-Gly-Thr-Phe-Thr-Ser-Asp-Val-Ser-Ser-Tyr-Leu-Glu-Gly-Gln-Ala-Ala-Lys-Glu-Phe-Ile-Ala-Trp-Leu-Val-Arg-Gly-Arg-Gly-Gly-Gly-Gly-Gly-Pro-Ser-Lys-Lys-Lys-Lys-Lys-LysReference description; checked chemical identity above takes precedence when available.14
Illustrative model using reported human data.
Five half-lives in this simplified model. This is not a prediction of when effects stop.
Label estimate. Peak concentration occurs at 8–72 hours; peak time is not half-life.
Population: Healthy participants and patients with type 2 diabetes
100 × 2−time / half-life. Time zero is a reference level, not the moment of administration. Absorption, repeated dosing, metabolites and clinical effects are not modeled. Five half-lives leaves 3.125%, not zero. This curve cannot determine a dosing interval.
This value is reported by a secondary reference. The stated attribution has not been independently verified as a route- and formulation-matched human PK measurement.
Illustrative scenario using an unverified reference estimate.
Five half-lives in this estimated model. This is not a prediction of when effects stop.
Population: Not established by the reference estimate
Source’s stated attribution: FDA Mounjaro Label
Source’s reported peak time: 1 day. This has not been independently confirmed and is not used in the elimination curve.
100 × 2−time / half-life. Time zero is a reference level, not the moment of administration. Absorption, repeated dosing, metabolites and clinical effects are not modeled. Five half-lives leaves 3.125%, not zero. This curve cannot determine a dosing interval.
SURMOUNT-1 mean changes were −15.0%, −19.5% and −20.9% at the three doses, versus −3.1% with placebo.1
Appetite days 1–3; glucose 1–2 weeks; GI adaptation 2–4 weeks; weight changes over months, not guaranteed weekly loss.14
These are reported timelines, not a prediction of your response.
Voluntary, unverified reports. These percentages do not measure effectiveness or safety.
The source hides 1 additional categories. Their labels and percentages are unavailable.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
The source hides 4 additional categories. Their labels and percentages are unavailable.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
The source hides 2 additional categories. Their labels and percentages are unavailable.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
The source hides 12 additional categories. Their labels and percentages are unavailable.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
The source hides 8 additional categories. Their labels and percentages are unavailable.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
The source hides 43 additional categories. Their labels and percentages are unavailable.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
The source hides 13 additional categories. Their labels and percentages are unavailable.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
The source hides 3 additional categories. Their labels and percentages are unavailable.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
The source hides 11 additional categories. Their labels and percentages are unavailable.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
The source displays “5096 responses” for this profile. This is not a confirmed participant count or a denominator for individual questions.
Compare purpose, amount, route, frequency, and duration.
Research vials lack approved-product stability/efficacy assurance.
Scroll to compare all columns →
| Route | Dose | Frequency | Goal / evidence | Duration | References |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SubQSubcutaneous | 2.5 mg — initiation | Once weekly | Glycemic control: MounjaroProduct label | First 4 weeks | 2 |
Population Adults with type 2 diabetes Context Initial step lasts 4 weeks; further 2.5-mg increases require at least 4 weeks. Prescriber-directed. Source dose wording 2.5 mg initiation; then 5 mg; maximum 15 mg | |||||
| SubQSubcutaneous | 5 mg — after initiation | Once weekly | Glycemic control: MounjaroProduct label | Not specified | 2 |
Population Adults with type 2 diabetes Context Initial step lasts 4 weeks; further 2.5-mg increases require at least 4 weeks. Prescriber-directed. Source dose wording 2.5 mg initiation; then 5 mg; maximum 15 mg | |||||
| SubQSubcutaneous | 15 mg — labeled maximum | Once weekly | Glycemic control: MounjaroProduct label | Not specified | 2 |
Population Adults with type 2 diabetes Context Initial step lasts 4 weeks; further 2.5-mg increases require at least 4 weeks. Prescriber-directed. Source dose wording 2.5 mg initiation; then 5 mg; maximum 15 mg | |||||
| SubQSubcutaneous | 5 mg target | Once weekly | Weight reduction: SURMOUNT-1Human study | 72 weeks | 1 |
Population Adults with obesity/overweight without diabetes Context Included a 20-week escalation period and lifestyle intervention. Source dose wording 5, 10 or 15 mg target | |||||
| SubQSubcutaneous | 10 mg target | Once weekly | Weight reduction: SURMOUNT-1Human study | 72 weeks | 1 |
Population Adults with obesity/overweight without diabetes Context Included a 20-week escalation period and lifestyle intervention. Source dose wording 5, 10 or 15 mg target | |||||
| SubQSubcutaneous | 15 mg target | Once weekly | Weight reduction: SURMOUNT-1Human study | 72 weeks | 1 |
Population Adults with obesity/overweight without diabetes Context Included a 20-week escalation period and lifestyle intervention. Source dose wording 5, 10 or 15 mg target | |||||
| SubQ | 2.5 mg weekly | Once weekly | Weight loss initiationReference report | 12-24+ weeks minimum for full metabolic benefits | 14 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. Research vials lack approved-product stability/efficacy assurance. Source tabs Injectable | |||||
| SubQ | 5 mg weekly | Once weekly | Weight loss progressionReference report | 12-24+ weeks minimum for full metabolic benefits | 14 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. Research vials lack approved-product stability/efficacy assurance. Source tabs Injectable | |||||
| SubQ | 7.5-10 mg weekly | Once weekly | Weight loss optimizationReference report | 12-24+ weeks minimum for full metabolic benefits | 14 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. Research vials lack approved-product stability/efficacy assurance. Source tabs Injectable | |||||
| SubQ | 12.5-15 mg weekly | Once weekly | Maximum weight lossReference report | 12-24+ weeks minimum for full metabolic benefits | 14 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. Research vials lack approved-product stability/efficacy assurance. Source tabs Injectable | |||||
| SubQ | 5-7.5 mg weekly | Once weekly | Diabetes management (mild)Reference report | 12-24+ weeks minimum for full metabolic benefits | 14 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. Research vials lack approved-product stability/efficacy assurance. Source tabs Injectable | |||||
| SubQ | 10-15 mg weekly | Once weekly | Diabetes management (severe)Reference report | 12-24+ weeks minimum for full metabolic benefits | 14 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. Research vials lack approved-product stability/efficacy assurance. Source tabs Injectable | |||||
No protocols match these filters.
Study and label doses retain their study context. Reference reports are unvalidated practices, not personal treatment instructions. Ranges remain ranges; escalation stages are labeled.
Reported use periods and breaks. These do not establish a safe cycle or prove that breaks prevent tolerance.
Any time of day, with or without food
Nausea, diarrhea, vomiting, constipation and abdominal symptoms.
2Contraindicated with personal/family MTC or MEN2; human tumor risk remains unknown.
2Warnings include pancreatitis, dehydration-related kidney injury and severe gastrointestinal reactions.
2GI effects, dehydration/kidney injury, pancreatitis, gallbladder disease, retinopathy, aspiration and hypoglycemia with other drugs; MTC/MEN2 contraindication.
Severe abdominal pain, neck symptoms, persistent vomiting, low urine, edema, confusion, allergy or severe mood symptoms.
Not a complete safety screen. Discuss health decisions with a qualified clinician.
Check cautions and reported pairings. A compatibility claim does not establish that a combination is safe.
GLP-1 duplication.14
Reference report · Pep-Pedia label: Avoid CombinationGLP-1 duplication.14
Reference report · Pep-Pedia label: Avoid CombinationHypoglycemia.14
Reference report · Pep-Pedia label: Monitor CombinationLabel requires backup/nonoral method around initiation/escalation.14
Reference report · Evidence context: Monitor combinationHypoglycemia risk increases.2
Research contextLabel advises non-oral or added barrier contraception for 4 weeks after initiation and each escalation.2
Research contextDelayed gastric emptying can alter absorption.2
Research contextEstablished diabetes co-treatment.14
Reference report · Pep-Pedia label: SynergisticNo proven muscle protection.14
Reference report · Pep-Pedia label: CompatibleNo proven muscle protection.14
Reference report · Pep-Pedia label: CompatibleNo proven GI protection.14
Reference report · Pep-Pedia label: CompatibleUntested pairing.14
Reference report · Pep-Pedia label: CompatibleNo matching interactions. Try another name or filter.
Enter your peptide amount and container size. Get a volume and a simple measurement scale.
For dry powder, assuming negligible volume displacement. Use bacteriostatic water only if the formulation specifies it.
Amounts below are total blend mass. Ingredient amounts are listed separately.
| Pen units | Amount | Volume |
|---|
Enter an amount to calculate its volume and device setting.
The suggestion favors a simple 1, 2, or 5 × power-of-ten amount per unit, then the largest final volume that fits. It does not choose a dose or a biologically suitable concentration.
The water estimate applies only to dry powder and assumes negligible powder displacement. Final solution volume, specified diluent, solubility, stability, sterility, cartridge compatibility, and working fill limits must be established separately. No allowance is made for priming or transfer losses.
V2 measurement specification ↗Bacteriostatic water: formulation instructions ↗Mounjaro pens and vials contain solution; no reconstitution.2
Research powders are not interchangeable with the approved presentations.2
Reported handling information, not a validated formulation or instruction to prepare an injectable product.
Pep-Pedia describes preparation for this route; product-specific stability has not been independently verified.
The source describes gentle mixing and avoiding vigorous shaking.
Appearance and a purity certificate cannot establish sterility, identity, or suitability for injection.
Packaging examples, not a market survey. Approved and research products are not interchangeable.
The checked sources do not establish how long this research preparation remains stable and sterile after mixing.14
Product-specific storage; no reconstitution.
Normally 2–8°C. Unrefrigerated: up to 21 total days at ≤30°C. Do not freeze; protect from heat and light.15
Unopened: 2–8°C, or up to 30 days at ≤30°C. In use: 2–8°C or ≤30°C. Discard at the earliest of 30 total days at room temperature, 30 days after first use, or four weekly doses.15
Storage depends on the formulation, diluent, container, and handling. Follow the specific product label or pharmacist’s instructions.
Device units measure volume. Concentration determines the amount in mg.
Documented 1-unit V2 models
Use the numbered dose window. Whole-unit settings only; confirm the specification for your exact model.
100 units = 1 mL
Read the printed unit scale. A small line may represent 0.5, 1, or 2 units depending on the syringe.
mL syringes and calibrated pipettes
Drops, sprays and other pen clicks need their own verified volume per increment. They have no universal conversion.
3 mL is cartridge capacity. It does not mean you must prepare or load 3 mL. The original vial and the pen cartridge are different containers. This reference compares measurement scales; it does not establish product or route compatibility.
Research vials lack approved-product stability/efficacy assurance.
A dual GIP/GLP-1 receptor agonist with approved prescription products for diabetes, weight management and certain sleep-apnea patients. Approved products have defined formulations; research powders do not share their approval.
Other names: Tirz · Mounjaro · Zepbound
FDA-approved products: Mounjaro for type 2 diabetes; Zepbound for eligible adults with obesity/overweight and for moderate-to-severe OSA in adults with obesity.
Regulates glucose-dependent insulin, glucagon, gastric emptying and satiety.14
Among 2,539 adults without diabetes, mean weight change at 72 weeks was −15.0%, −19.5% and −20.9% for 5, 10 and 15 mg, versus −3.1% for placebo, regardless of discontinuation.
1FDA approved Zepbound for moderate-to-severe obstructive sleep apnea in adults with obesity, with diet and physical activity. This does not establish treatment for every cause of sleep apnea.
3Primary events occurred in 12.2% with tirzepatide and 13.1% with dulaglutide (HR 0.92; 95.3% CI 0.83–1.01). Superiority was not demonstrated (p=0.09).
6Single-dose pen/vial: 21 total days ≤30°C. Multi-dose vial/KwikPen: discard after 30 days at room temperature, 30 days after first use, or four doses. Nonoral or barrier contraception for four weeks after initiation and every escalation. These rules do not validate research-vial expiry.
Approved product label15Type 2 diabetes. Mounjaro indication; prescribing depends on age and formulation.2
Weight management. Zepbound is approved for specified obesity/overweight populations.4
Obstructive sleep apnea. Zepbound indication in adults with obesity and moderate-to-severe OSA.3
Pep-Pedia describes reduced appetite, earlier fullness and initial nausea. Its page is a secondary summary, not a verified cohort analysis.7
A secondary protocol description, not a clinical recommendation or a representative survey. Dose, product identity, other compounds and outcome reporting are not independently verified.
The targeted check identified relevant additional literature or current regulatory information; checked findings are separated from retained bibliography-only references.
AI-prepared summaries. Independent medical editorial review is pending.
Original sources and review status. Open a reference to read its summary.
A 72-week trial in 2,539 adults found mean weight changes of −15.0% to −20.9% across tirzepatide arms versus −3.1% with placebo.
Among 2,539 adults without diabetes, mean weight change at 72 weeks was −15.0%, −19.5% and −20.9% for 5, 10 and 15 mg, versus −3.1% for placebo, regardless of discontinuation.
Defines the approved diabetes population, product presentations, contraindications and adverse effects. The label applies to Mounjaro, not research powders.
Zepbound's additional indication covers moderate-to-severe OSA in adults with obesity alongside diet and activity.
FDA approved Zepbound for moderate-to-severe obstructive sleep apnea in adults with obesity, with diet and physical activity. This does not establish treatment for every cause of sleep apnea.
FDA approved Zepbound for chronic weight management in eligible adults with obesity or overweight and a related condition.
Describes the 39-residue linear peptide and its linked C20 fatty diacid.
Published December 2025. In type 2 diabetes with ASCVD, tirzepatide met noninferiority but not superiority for MACE versus dulaglutide.
Primary events occurred in 12.2% with tirzepatide and 13.1% with dulaglutide (HR 0.92; 95.3% CI 0.83–1.01). Superiority was not demonstrated (p=0.09).
Additional research · Checked 2026-10-12
Accessed October 12, 2026. Reports commonly discussed protocols; these schedules are unvalidated descriptions, not evidence of safety or efficacy.
Catalog lists research vials including 5, 10, 15, 20, 30 mg. Seller labels only: contents and suppliers are not independently verified or endorsed, and these are not market-frequency estimates.
Pep-Pedia reports: SURMOUNT-2 reportedly produced 15.7% weight loss at 15 mg over 72 weeks in adults with diabetes and obesity.
Reported population / model
938 adults with T2DM and obesity
Reported study details
72-week duration
Pep-Pedia supplies no original study link for this card. Study identity, design, doses and result remain unverified.
Read the Pep-Pedia report ↗Pep-Pedia reference card; original summary of its reported findings · Checked 2026-10-12
Published December 2025. In type 2 diabetes with ASCVD, tirzepatide met noninferiority but not superiority for MACE versus dulaglutide.
Pep-Pedia bibliography; reconciled with an existing checked primary-source record · Checked 2026-10-12
Pep-Pedia reports: The source reports 22.5% versus 2.4% weight loss, a different analysis from the main treatment-regimen estimate; estimands must not be mixed.
Reported population / model
2,539 adults with obesity
Reported study details
72-week study · Multiple dose levels
Pep-Pedia supplies no original study link for this card. Study identity, design, doses and result remain unverified.
Read the Pep-Pedia report ↗Pep-Pedia reference card; original summary of its reported findings · Checked 2026-10-12
Pep-Pedia reports: The program compared specified doses and medicines, not every diabetes treatment; claims of universal superiority exceed the comparisons tested.
Reported population / model
Multiple Phase 3 trials
Reported study details
>13,000 T2DM patients · Head-to-head comparisons
Pep-Pedia supplies no original study link for this card. Study identity, design, doses and result remain unverified.
Read the Pep-Pedia report ↗Pep-Pedia reference card; original summary of its reported findings · Checked 2026-10-12
Lists a half-life of 5 days and a peak time of 1 day. Stated attribution: FDA Mounjaro Label. This value is reported by a secondary reference. The stated attribution has not been independently verified as a route- and formulation-matched human PK measurement. Five half-lives is not complete clearance, and the source’s “cleared” value is not used as a measured endpoint.
Secondary reference page checked; the underlying quantitative claim is not independently confirmed. · Checked 2026-10-12
Source page checked across available routes. Protocols, cycles, storage, mechanisms and pairing claims are secondary reports; checking the page does not independently validate those claims. Original concise summaries are used here.
Content coverage audit · Checked 2026-10-12
Single-dose pen/vial: 21 total days ≤30°C. Multi-dose vial/KwikPen: discard after 30 days at room temperature, 30 days after first use, or four doses. Nonoral or barrier contraception for four weeks after initiation and every escalation. These rules do not validate research-vial expiry.
Single-dose pen/vial: 21 total days ≤30°C. Multi-dose vial/KwikPen: discard after 30 days at room temperature, 30 days after first use, or four doses. Nonoral or barrier contraception for four weeks after initiation and every escalation. These rules do not validate research-vial expiry.
Additional primary-source check · Checked 2026-10-12