Experimental antidepressant mechanism
1The seven-residue peptide blocked TREK-1 in cells and reduced depression-like behavior in mouse assays. This does not show that it treats depression in people.
Shortened spadin analogue
No FDA-approved product identified for this exact research entry in the targeted review.
Mini-Spadin is an experimental antidepressant peptide with animal evidence and no established human efficacy.
The seven-residue peptide blocked TREK-1 in cells and reduced depression-like behavior in mouse assays. This does not show that it treats depression in people.
Depression, anxiety and neurogenesis models.
Memory and stroke-related neuroprotection hypotheses.
Oral animal activity; nasal delivery remains theoretical.
Reasons people report using it; these do not establish benefit.16
Human efficacy, dosing and adverse effects are not established by this preclinical study.1
1 distinct primary sources or abstracts checked. Evidence may concern a parent compound, individual blend ingredient, animal, or cell model; it does not necessarily establish a benefit for this exact product.
Evidence definitions →Mouse behavioral effects are not a human safety assessment.1
No FDA-approved product identified for this exact research entry in the targeted review.
7 residues · N → C16
Reference identity · not independently confirmed16
Gly-Val-Ser-Trp-Gly-Leu-Arg (GVSWGLR)Identity reported by Pep-Pedia; exact-product sequence and modifications have not been independently confirmed.
Shortened spadin analogue PE 22–28
Distinguish PE 22–28 from G/A and biotinylated derivatives.
7 amino acids · 773.89 Da
Gly-Val-Ser-Trp-Gly-Leu-Arg (GVSWGLR)Reference description; checked chemical identity above takes precedence when available.16
The study measured mouse behavioral effect duration, including modified derivatives, not human plasma elimination.
No numerical estimate was found in the checked data or Pep-Pedia profile. A curve would require an unsupported assumption.
Human efficacy, dosing and adverse effects are not established by this preclinical study.1
Voluntary, unverified reports. These percentages do not measure effectiveness or safety.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
The source hides 3 additional categories. Their labels and percentages are unavailable.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
The source hides 4 additional categories. Their labels and percentages are unavailable.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
The source hides 1 additional categories. Their labels and percentages are unavailable.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
The source hides 3 additional categories. Their labels and percentages are unavailable.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
The source hides 1 additional categories. Their labels and percentages are unavailable.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
The source displays “296 responses” for this profile. This is not a confirmed participant count or a denominator for individual questions.
Compare purpose, amount, route, frequency, and duration.
Animal cardiac selectivity does not establish human cardiac safety; combination labels are source claims.
Scroll to compare all columns →
| Route | Dose | Frequency | Goal / evidence | Duration | References |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SubQ | 50-100 mcg | Once daily | Research Protocol (Human Equivalent - Theoretical)Reference report | 4-8 weeks typical research protocol | 16 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. Animal cardiac selectivity does not establish human cardiac safety; combination labels are source claims. Source tabs Injectable | |||||
| SubQ | 100-200 mcg | Once daily | Research Protocol (Conservative)Reference report | 4-8 weeks typical research protocol | 16 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. Animal cardiac selectivity does not establish human cardiac safety; combination labels are source claims. Source tabs Injectable | |||||
| IntranasalNasal spray | 100-300 mcg | Once or twice daily | Research Protocol (Theoretical)Reference report | Not specified | 16 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. Animal cardiac selectivity does not establish human cardiac safety; combination labels are source claims. Source tabs Nasal | |||||
No protocols match these filters.
Study and label doses retain their study context. Reference reports are unvalidated practices, not personal treatment instructions. Ranges remain ranges; escalation stages are labeled.
Reported use periods and breaks. These do not establish a safe cycle or prove that breaks prevent tolerance.
Morning administration common; ~23 hour duration of action supports once-daily dosing
Not established
Morning administration typical for nootropic peptides
Laboratory exposures cannot establish a human dose.
Scroll to compare all columns →
| Route | Dose | Frequency | Goal / evidence | Duration | References |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| OtherIP | 3-4 mcg/kg | Once daily | Preclinical Antidepressant Studies (Mouse)Reference report | 4-8 weeks typical research protocol | 16 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. Animal cardiac selectivity does not establish human cardiac safety; combination labels are source claims. Source tabs Injectable | |||||
| OralOral gavage | 1 mg/kg | Once daily | Preclinical Oral Studies (Mouse)Reference report | 4-8 weeks typical research protocol | 16 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. Animal cardiac selectivity does not establish human cardiac safety; combination labels are source claims. Source tabs Injectable | |||||
| OralOral gavage | 1 mg/kg | Once daily | Preclinical Oral Study (Mouse)Reference report | Not specified | 16 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. Animal cardiac selectivity does not establish human cardiac safety; combination labels are source claims. Source tabs Oral | |||||
No protocols match these filters.
Mouse behavioral effects are not a human safety assessment.
1Activity duration of modified analogues is not PE-22-28 human pharmacokinetics.
1No human trials or established oral/nasal exposure.
Agitation, confusion, tachycardia, hypertension or twitching may indicate serotonergic toxicity; seizures, chest pain, allergy, mania/suicidal thoughts or unusual bleeding need assessment.
Persistent nasal bleeding, irritation or infection.
Not a complete safety screen. Discuss health decisions with a qualified clinician.
Check cautions and reported pairings. A compatibility claim does not establish that a combination is safe.
Theoretical serotonergic excess.16
Reference report · Pep-Pedia label: Monitor CombinationPotential channel interactions.16
Reference report · Evidence context: Use cautionTheoretical serotonin toxicity.16
Reference report · Pep-Pedia label: Avoid CombinationUnstudied plasticity pairing.16
Reference report · Evidence context: Potentially synergisticUnstudied pairing.16
Reference report · Pep-Pedia label: SynergisticUnstudied growth signaling.16
Reference report · Evidence context: Potentially synergisticUnstudied pairing.16
Reference report · Pep-Pedia label: CompatibleUnstudied pairing.16
Reference report · Pep-Pedia label: CompatibleNo exact-product human interaction study was verified; lack of evidence is not evidence of safety.2
Research contextNo matching interactions. Try another name or filter.
No product-specific preparation or stability instruction was verified. A dilution calculation does not establish suitability for injection.2
Reported handling information, not a validated formulation or instruction to prepare an injectable product.
The source gives a 10 mg vial example.
The source describes gentle mixing and avoiding vigorous shaking.
The oral view contains only a generic injection banner and no route-specific preparation information.
No oral solvent or mixing protocol can be inferred from that banner.
Pep-Pedia describes preparation for this route; product-specific stability has not been independently verified.
Appearance and a purity certificate cannot establish sterility, identity, or suitability for injection.
No verified packaging examples included.
Packaging examples, not a market survey. Approved and research products are not interchangeable.
Pep-Pedia reports these handling limits after mixing. They are not validated stability or sterility limits for your vial.
Lyophilized: refrigerate 2-8°C or -20°C for long-term; Reconstituted: refrigerate, use within 4-6 weeks
Refrigerate solution; protect from light
Refrigerate reconstituted solution
Storage depends on the formulation, diluent, container, and handling. Follow the specific product label or pharmacist’s instructions.
Animal cardiac selectivity does not establish human cardiac safety; combination labels are source claims.
PE-22-28 is a spadin-derived peptide investigated as a TREK-1 blocker. Cell and mouse experiments do not establish an antidepressant treatment in people.
No FDA-approved product identified for this exact research entry in the targeted review.
TREK-1 blockade alters neuronal excitability, serotonin signaling and downstream plasticity.16
The seven-residue peptide blocked TREK-1 in cells and reduced depression-like behavior in mouse assays. This does not show that it treats depression in people.
1Experimental antidepressant mechanism. The seven-residue peptide blocked TREK-1 in cells and reduced depression-like behavior in mouse assays. This does not show that it treats depression in people.1
Pep-Pedia discusses preclinical depression research.2
Editorial summary, not a measured community survey, clinical protocol or recommendation.
No newer human clinical study was verified. Checked the original cell and mouse paper; behavioral duration is not human elimination half-life.
AI-prepared summaries. Independent medical editorial review is pending.
Original sources and review status. Open a reference to read its summary.
PE 22-28 inhibited TREK-1 in cells and changed depression-like behavior in mice. Longer activity measurements concerned modified analogues, not human elimination.
The seven-residue peptide blocked TREK-1 in cells and reduced depression-like behavior in mouse assays. This does not show that it treats depression in people.
Additional research · Checked 2026-10-12
Secondary editorial profile and reported practices; not clinical validation.
Pep-Pedia reports: Spadin-related compounds selectively interfered with arachidonic-acid activation of TREK-1; mechanism does not establish clinical tolerability.
Reported population / model
Frontiers in Pharmacology 2020
Reported study details
Mechanism of action study
Reported by Pep-Pedia; the linked publication, design, doses and result have not been independently verified here.
Read the Pep-Pedia report ↗Pep-Pedia reference card; original summary of its reported findings · Checked 2026-10-12
Pep-Pedia reports: The review describes TREK-1 roles in mood, pain, neuroprotection and anesthesia; target biology is not proof of peptide-treatment efficacy.
Reported population / model
Frontiers in Physiology 2019
Reported study details
Comprehensive review · Multiple disease states
Reported by Pep-Pedia; the linked publication, design, doses and result have not been independently verified here.
Read the Pep-Pedia report ↗Pep-Pedia reference card; original summary of its reported findings · Checked 2026-10-12
Pep-Pedia reports: The review describes rapid behavioral and neurogenesis effects in preclinical spadin experiments; comparison with antidepressant onset is not a human trial.
Reported population / model
Pharmacology & Therapeutics 2019
Reported study details
Review of Spadin research
Reported by Pep-Pedia; the linked publication, design, doses and result have not been independently verified here.
Read the Pep-Pedia report ↗Pep-Pedia reference card; original summary of its reported findings · Checked 2026-10-12
Pep-Pedia reports: The source reports stronger channel inhibition and longer animal effects for shortened analogues; four-day treatment increased neurogenesis markers.
Reported population / model
Frontiers in Pharmacology 2017
Reported study details
In vitro and in vivo studies · Mice models
Reported by Pep-Pedia; the linked publication, design, doses and result have not been independently verified here.
Read the Pep-Pedia report ↗Pep-Pedia reference card; original summary of its reported findings · Checked 2026-10-12
Pep-Pedia reports: Parent spadin produced CREB and hippocampal-neurogenesis changes in animal depression models; this is not direct clinical PE-22-28 evidence.
Reported population / model
PLOS Biology 2010
Reported study details
Original spadin discovery · Multiple depression models
Reported by Pep-Pedia; the linked publication, design, doses and result have not been independently verified here.
Read the Pep-Pedia report ↗Pep-Pedia reference card; original summary of its reported findings · Checked 2026-10-12
Pep-Pedia reports: TREK-1 knockout mice showed altered stress/depression-like behaviors and serotonin signaling; genetic deletion is not a tested human therapy.
Reported population / model
Nature Neuroscience 2006
Reported study details
TREK-1 knockout mice · Behavioral and electrophysiology
Reported by Pep-Pedia; the linked publication, design, doses and result have not been independently verified here.
Read the Pep-Pedia report ↗Pep-Pedia reference card; original summary of its reported findings · Checked 2026-10-12
Pep-Pedia reports: The source reports stronger channel inhibition and longer animal effects for shortened analogues; four-day treatment increased neurogenesis markers.
Reported population / model
Frontiers in Pharmacology 2017
Reported study details
In vitro and in vivo studies · Mice models
Reported by Pep-Pedia; the linked publication, design, doses and result have not been independently verified here.
Read the Pep-Pedia report ↗Pep-Pedia reference card; original summary of its reported findings · Checked 2026-10-12
Pep-Pedia reports: Parent spadin produced CREB and hippocampal-neurogenesis changes in animal depression models; this is not direct clinical PE-22-28 evidence.
Reported population / model
PLOS Biology 2010
Reported study details
Original spadin discovery · Multiple depression models
Reported by Pep-Pedia; the linked publication, design, doses and result have not been independently verified here.
Read the Pep-Pedia report ↗Pep-Pedia reference card; original summary of its reported findings · Checked 2026-10-12
Pep-Pedia reports: TREK-1 knockout mice showed altered stress/depression-like behaviors and serotonin signaling; genetic deletion is not a tested human therapy.
Reported population / model
Nature Neuroscience 2006
Reported study details
TREK-1 knockout mice · Behavioral and electrophysiology
Reported by Pep-Pedia; the linked publication, design, doses and result have not been independently verified here.
Read the Pep-Pedia report ↗Pep-Pedia reference card; original summary of its reported findings · Checked 2026-10-12
Pep-Pedia reports: The review describes rapid behavioral and neurogenesis effects in preclinical spadin experiments; comparison with antidepressant onset is not a human trial.
Reported population / model
Pharmacology & Therapeutics 2019
Reported study details
Review of Spadin research
Reported by Pep-Pedia; the linked publication, design, doses and result have not been independently verified here.
Read the Pep-Pedia report ↗Pep-Pedia reference card; original summary of its reported findings · Checked 2026-10-12
Pep-Pedia reports: Spadin-related compounds selectively interfered with arachidonic-acid activation of TREK-1; mechanism does not establish clinical tolerability.
Reported population / model
Frontiers in Pharmacology 2020
Reported study details
Mechanism of action study
Reported by Pep-Pedia; the linked publication, design, doses and result have not been independently verified here.
Read the Pep-Pedia report ↗Pep-Pedia reference card; original summary of its reported findings · Checked 2026-10-12
Pep-Pedia reports: The review describes TREK-1 roles in mood, pain, neuroprotection and anesthesia; target biology is not proof of peptide-treatment efficacy.
Reported population / model
Frontiers in Physiology 2019
Reported study details
Comprehensive review · Multiple disease states
Reported by Pep-Pedia; the linked publication, design, doses and result have not been independently verified here.
Read the Pep-Pedia report ↗Pep-Pedia reference card; original summary of its reported findings · Checked 2026-10-12
Reference retained from Pep-Pedia’s bibliography; findings and bibliographic accuracy have not been independently verified.
Pep-Pedia bibliography · Checked 2026-10-12
Source page checked across available routes. Protocols, cycles, storage, mechanisms and pairing claims are secondary reports; checking the page does not independently validate those claims. Original concise summaries are used here.
Content coverage audit · Checked 2026-10-12