Administered MOTS-c improved exercise outcomes in mice; human work measured endogenous levels.
What does it do?
Mitochondrial-derived peptide investigated mainly in metabolic and exercise models. Endogenous human associations are different from demonstrated supplementation efficacy.
Approved & studied uses
Community uses Reported, unvalidated
Insulin resistance, glucose and obesity
20Primarily animal metabolic findings; source's general clinical-trial claim is unverified here.
Aging and mitochondria
20Animal performance/lifespan and cellular-energy findings.
Exercise and muscle recovery
20Mouse endurance, muscle-homeostasis and human association research.
Reasons people report using it; these do not establish benefit.20
Evidence limits
View research →Human efficacy, dosing and long-term safety remain unestablished in the evidence reviewed.1
3 distinct primary sources or abstracts checked. Evidence may concern a parent compound, individual blend ingredient, animal, or cell model; it does not necessarily establish a benefit for this exact product.
Evidence definitions →Key safety information
All risks →Human safety gap
FDA reports no identified human exposure data sufficient to inform safety.3
No FDA-approved therapeutic product identified.
Molecular information
Amino-acid sequence
- Met
- Arg
- Trp
- Gln
- Glu
- Met
- Gly
- Tyr
- Ile
- Phe
- Tyr
- Pro
- Arg
- Lys
- Leu
- Arg
16 residues · N → C20
Formula, sequence notation & identity
MRWQEMGYIFYPRKLR (Met-Arg-Trp-Gln-Glu-Met-Gly-Tyr-Ile-Phe-Tyr-Pro-Arg-Lys-Leu-Arg)Identity reported by Pep-Pedia; exact-product sequence and modifications have not been independently confirmed.
Mitochondrial-derived peptide MOTS-c.
Record refers to the defined peptide, not a salt, blend or proof of retail-product identity.
Pep-Pedia identity details
16 amino acids · 2,174.6 Da
MRWQEMGYIFYPRKLR (Met-Arg-Trp-Gln-Glu-Met-Gly-Tyr-Ile-Phe-Tyr-Pro-Arg-Lys-Leu-Arg)Reference description; checked chemical identity above takes precedence when available.20
How long does it stay in the body?
This value is reported by a secondary reference. The stated attribution has not been independently verified as a route- and formulation-matched human PK measurement.
Illustrative scenario using an unverified reference estimate.
Five half-lives in this estimated model. This is not a prediction of when effects stop.
Evidence and model details
Population: Not established by the reference estimate
Source’s stated attribution: Lee et al. 2015
Source’s reported peak time: 1 hr. This has not been independently confirmed and is not used in the elimination curve.
100 × 2−time / half-life. Time zero is a reference level, not the moment of administration. Absorption, repeated dosing, metabolites and clinical effects are not modeled. Five half-lives leaves 3.125%, not zero. This curve cannot determine a dosing interval.
What to expect
Study outcomes
Human exercise association
The human arm measured naturally occurring MOTS-c after exercise; participants were not treated with MOTS-c.1
Reported timelines
Reference & communityWeeks 1–2; 2–4; 4–12
Source metabolic/exercise timeline is not a validated human response schedule.20
These are reported timelines, not a prediction of your response.
Community poll 10 topics · Pep-Pedia snapshot
Voluntary, unverified reports. These percentages do not measure effectiveness or safety.
Experience
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
Duration of use
The source hides 10 additional categories. Their labels and percentages are unavailable.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
Age range
The source hides 2 additional categories. Their labels and percentages are unavailable.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
Gender
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
Primary goal
The source hides 23 additional categories. Their labels and percentages are unavailable.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
Effectiveness
The source hides 25 additional categories. Their labels and percentages are unavailable.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
Side effects
The source hides 28 additional categories. Their labels and percentages are unavailable.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
Dosage frequency
The source hides 12 additional categories. Their labels and percentages are unavailable.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
Would recommend
The source hides 13 additional categories. Their labels and percentages are unavailable.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
How discovered
The source hides 4 additional categories. Their labels and percentages are unavailable.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
Source & limitations
The source displays “4789 responses” for this profile. This is not a confirmed participant count or a denominator for individual questions.
- Voluntary self-reports from Pep-Pedia visitors; identity, treatment, outcomes and timing are unverified. These data are not efficacy or safety estimates.
- The source displays a profile-wide response label, not a confirmed unique participant count. It stays unchanged across questions. Question-specific denominators and absolute option counts are not exposed.
- Only the top five categories are displayed for some questions. Extra categories are retained as an undisplayed-category count; their labels and percentages are unavailable.
- Displayed percentages are rounded. They may not total 100%, especially where categories are hidden.
- This is a dated snapshot, not a live survey or current recommendation.
Doses & schedules
Compare purpose, amount, route, frequency, and duration.
Source corrections
Source compatibility labels and mouse tolerability do not establish safety; WADA status differs from medical approval.
Scroll to compare all columns →
| Route | Dose | Frequency | Goal / evidence | Duration | References |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SubQ | 5-10 mg | Once daily | Metabolic healthReference report | 4-12 weeks continuous or 3x weekly intermittent | 20 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. Source compatibility labels and mouse tolerability do not establish safety; WADA status differs from medical approval. Source tabs Injectable | |||||
| SubQ | 15 mg | 3x weekly | Anti-aging protocolReference report | 4-12 weeks continuous or 3x weekly intermittent | 20 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. Source compatibility labels and mouse tolerability do not establish safety; WADA status differs from medical approval. Source tabs Injectable | |||||
| SubQ | 10-15 mg | Pre-workout | Exercise performanceReference report | 4-12 weeks continuous or 3x weekly intermittent | 20 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. Source compatibility labels and mouse tolerability do not establish safety; WADA status differs from medical approval. Source tabs Injectable | |||||
| SubQ | 5 mgStarting dose | Once daily | Conservative startReference report | 4-12 weeks continuous or 3x weekly intermittent | 20 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. Source compatibility labels and mouse tolerability do not establish safety; WADA status differs from medical approval. Source tabs Injectable | |||||
| SubQSubQ (abdomen) | 1 mg | 3x weekly | Low-dose stack protocolReference report | 4-12 weeks continuous or 3x weekly intermittent | 20 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. Source compatibility labels and mouse tolerability do not establish safety; WADA status differs from medical approval. Source tabs Injectable | |||||
No protocols match these filters.
Study and label doses retain their study context. Reference reports are unvalidated practices, not personal treatment instructions. Ranges remain ranges; escalation stages are labeled.
Reported use periods and breaks. These do not establish a safe cycle or prove that breaks prevent tolerance.
Injectable
- Use period
- 4-12 weeks continuous or 3x weekly intermittent
- Break
- 2-4 weeks between continuous cycles
Reported timing
Morning before exercise or with first meal
Side effects & safety
Human safety gap
FDA reports no identified human exposure data sufficient to inform safety.
3Product-related concerns
FDA flags immunogenicity and peptide-impurity concerns.
3Long-term uncertainty
The cited exercise work does not establish long-term safety of administration to humans.
1Unknown long-term safety
Human safety, pregnancy/lactation and chronic exposure remain poorly characterized.
Stop symptoms
Allergy, recurrent low glucose, severe local reactions or unexplained major weight loss.
Not a complete safety screen. Discuss health decisions with a qualified clinician.
Combinations & interactions
7 entriesCheck cautions and reported pairings. A compatibility claim does not establish that a combination is safe.
Metformin
Caution reportedPossible additive glucose effects; clinical interaction untested.20
Reference report · Pep-Pedia label: Use CautionBerberine
Caution reportedPossible additive glucose effects.20
Reference report · Pep-Pedia label: Monitor CombinationDiabetes medicines
Caution reportedPotential glucose lowering.20
Reference report · Evidence context: Use cautionNAD+ precursors
Unverified pairingTheoretical mitochondrial complement.20
Reference report · Pep-Pedia label: SynergisticGrowth-hormone peptides
Unverified pairingSafety claim unproven.20
Reference report · Pep-Pedia label: CompatibleResveratrol
Unverified pairingMechanistic AMPK/SIRT hypothesis.20
Reference report · Pep-Pedia label: SynergisticOther peptides or medicines
Not establishedFDA reports insufficient human exposure/safety information. No validated combination safety is established here.3
Research contextNo matching interactions. Try another name or filter.
Reconstitution calculator
Enter your peptide amount and container size. Get a volume and a simple measurement scale.
For dry powder, assuming negligible volume displacement. Use bacteriostatic water only if the formulation specifies it.
Amounts below are total blend mass. Ingredient amounts are listed separately.
| Pen units | Amount | Volume |
|---|
Ingredients per unit
Other simple scales
Convert a specific amount
Enter an amount to calculate its volume and device setting.
Calculation & assumptions
The suggestion favors a simple 1, 2, or 5 × power-of-ten amount per unit, then the largest final volume that fits. It does not choose a dose or a biologically suitable concentration.
The water estimate applies only to dry powder and assumes negligible powder displacement. Final solution volume, specified diluent, solubility, stability, sterility, cartridge compatibility, and working fill limits must be established separately. No allowance is made for priming or transfer losses.
V2 measurement specification ↗Bacteriostatic water: formulation instructions ↗Reconstitution
No validated human product-specific reconstitution instructions are available in the cited sources.13
Evidence boundary
Mouse protocols cannot establish a human injectable preparation, storage period or diluent volume.1
Reference preparation details
Reported handling information, not a validated formulation or instruction to prepare an injectable product.
Injectable
Pep-Pedia describes preparation for this route; product-specific stability has not been independently verified.
- Solvents mentioned
- Bacteriostatic water
- Reported parameters
- Source temperature: 2-8°C. · Reported post-preparation interval: 14 days.
The source describes gentle mixing and avoiding vigorous shaking.
Appearance & documentation
Appearance and a purity certificate cannot establish sterility, identity, or suitability for injection.
Vial sizes
Packaging examples, not a market survey. Approved and research products are not interchangeable.
Storage after mixing
Reconstituted research vials
Pep-Pedia reports these handling limits after mixing. They are not validated stability or sterility limits for your vial.
Full storage notes from Pep-Pedia
20Lyophilized: room temp 3 weeks or freezer. Reconstituted: 2-8°C for 14 days
Storage depends on the formulation, diluent, container, and handling. Follow the specific product label or pharmacist’s instructions.
Pen & syringe measurements Scales, capacity & references
Pen & syringe measurements
Device units measure volume. Concentration determines the amount in mg.
1 notch = 0.01 mL
Documented 1-unit V2 models
- One dial increment
- 1 unit
- Cartridge capacity
- 3 mL
- Maximum setting
- 60 units · 0.60 mL
Use the numbered dose window. Whole-unit settings only; confirm the specification for your exact model.
1 unit = 0.01 mL
100 units = 1 mL
- 10 units
- 0.10 mL
- 30-unit capacity
- 0.30 mL
- 50 / 100-unit capacity
- 0.50 / 1 mL
Read the printed unit scale. A small line may represent 0.5, 1, or 2 units depending on the syringe.
Use the mL scale
mL syringes and calibrated pipettes
- 0.01 mL
- 10 µL
- 0.10 mL
- 100 µL
- Amount
- mL × mg/mL
Drops, sprays and other pen clicks need their own verified volume per increment. They have no universal conversion.
3 mL is cartridge capacity. It does not mean you must prepare or load 3 mL. The original vial and the pen cartridge are different containers. This reference compares measurement scales; it does not establish product or route compatibility.
Device references
AVERON V2 specifications ↗SilverLeaf V2 unit reference ↗FDA: syringe unit conversions ↗Specifications checked October 12, 2026.Research findings
PreclinicalSource context
Source compatibility labels and mouse tolerability do not establish safety; WADA status differs from medical approval.
Compound identity & other names
A mitochondrially encoded peptide investigated in metabolism and exercise. Strongly promoted benefits are mostly based on animal experiments and measurements of naturally occurring MOTS-c in humans.
Other names: MOTS · Mitochondrial open reading frame of the 12S rRNA-c
No FDA-approved therapeutic product identified.
How it may work
Folate/AICAR/AMPK and stress-responsive nuclear signaling; animal pathway effects do not establish human treatment benefit.20
Observational exercise findings
A 2021 study found exercise-related changes in endogenous MOTS-c in 10 men and improved physical performance after MOTS-c treatment in mice. The humans were not given MOTS-c.
1Exercise performance in mice
A single-dose experiment reported a 12% increase in running time and 15% in distance in untrained mice. No human dose or performance benefit follows from that result.
22026 cardiac work remains preclinical
An isolated rat-heart model reported less ischemia-reperfusion injury with MOTS-c. An ex-vivo perfusion system omits whole-body influences and cannot establish human treatment benefit.
7Research areas and evidence gaps
Exercise and metabolism research. Administered MOTS-c improved exercise outcomes in mice; human work measured endogenous levels.12
- Human efficacy, dosing and long-term safety remain unestablished in the evidence reviewed.
- Studies of the body's own peptide do not establish the safety of injected synthetic material.
Community reports Unvalidated
Pep-Pedia describes metabolic and exercise benefits, but these community claims run ahead of controlled human treatment evidence.8
A secondary protocol description, not a clinical recommendation or a representative survey. Dose, product identity, other compounds and outcome reporting are not independently verified.
Search coverage and review status
The targeted check identified relevant additional literature or current regulatory information; checked findings are separated from retained bibliography-only references.
- Checked
- 2026-10-12
- Search
- MOTS-c 2025 2026 experimental study site:pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Catalog
- Pep-Pedia ↗ · 11 listed references retained
- Targeted search, not an exhaustive systematic review.
- Bibliography-only entries are retained for traceability and are not treated as verified findings.
AI-prepared summaries. Independent medical editorial review is pending.
References
Original sources and review status. Open a reference to read its summary.
1MOTS-c, exercise and age-dependent physical declineReview status not recorded
Mouse treatment experiments showed physical-performance effects; the small human component measured endogenous peptide after exercise.
A 2021 study found exercise-related changes in endogenous MOTS-c in 10 men and improved physical performance after MOTS-c treatment in mice. The humans were not given MOTS-c.
2MOTS-c and acute exercise performanceReview status not recorded
In mice, a single dose improved acute treadmill performance. This was not a trial of a human treatment.
A single-dose experiment reported a 12% increase in running time and 15% in distance in untrained mice. No human dose or performance benefit follows from that result.
3FDA: MOTS-c compounding safety concernsReview status not recorded
FDA identifies missing human exposure and safety information.
4PubChem: MOTS-c chemical identityReview status not recorded
Records the 16-residue peptide MRWQEMGYIFYPRKLR, molecular formula and molecular weight.
5Acute Exercise Enhancement (2022)Abstract checked
In mice, a single dose improved acute treadmill performance. This was not a trial of a human treatment.
Pep-Pedia bibliography · Checked 2026-10-12
6Exercise Performance and Age-Dependent Physical Decline (2021)Primary source checked
Mouse treatment experiments showed physical-performance effects; the small human component measured endogenous peptide after exercise.
Pep-Pedia bibliography · Checked 2026-10-12
7MOTS-c in myocardial ischemia-reperfusion: isolated rat-heart studyAbstract checked
2026 ex-vivo rat-heart experiment found reduced injury under laboratory perfusion; systemic human efficacy and PK cannot be inferred.
An isolated rat-heart model reported less ischemia-reperfusion injury with MOTS-c. An ex-vivo perfusion system omits whole-body influences and cannot establish human treatment benefit.
Additional research · Checked 2026-10-12
8Pep-Pedia: mots-c — community referenceCommunity source checked
Accessed October 12, 2026. Reports commonly discussed protocols; these schedules are unvalidated descriptions, not evidence of safety or efficacy.
9Research catalog: labeled vial examplesCatalog checked
Catalog lists research vials including 10, 20 and 40 mg. These are seller label examples, not verified contents, market-frequency estimates or supplier endorsements.
10Gestational Diabetes Mellitus (2022)Pep-Pedia report · Primary source not checked
Pep-Pedia reports: Pregnant-mouse experiments improved glucose and offspring-weight measures; lower human circulating levels were observational and do not establish pregnancy treatment safety.
Reported population / model
Mice
Reported study details
Daily administration during pregnancy · Throughout pregnancy · Alleviated hyperglycemia, improved maternal-fetal outcomes
Reported by Pep-Pedia; the linked publication, design, doses and result have not been independently verified here.
Read the Pep-Pedia report ↗Pep-Pedia reference card; original summary of its reported findings · Checked 2026-10-12
11Nuclear Translocation Under Metabolic Stress (2018)Pep-Pedia report · Primary source not checked
Pep-Pedia reports: MOTS-c moved into cell nuclei under metabolic stress and interacted with stress-response transcription factors.
Reported population / model
Cell culture & Mice
Reported study details
1-10 μM in vitro · 30 min-24 hours · Nuclear translocation under stress
Reported by Pep-Pedia; the linked publication, design, doses and result have not been independently verified here.
Read the Pep-Pedia report ↗Pep-Pedia reference card; original summary of its reported findings · Checked 2026-10-12
12Coronary Endothelial Dysfunction (2018)Pep-Pedia report · Primary source not checked
Pep-Pedia reports: In 40 patients, lower circulating MOTS-c correlated with poorer coronary endothelial function; no supplementation intervention was tested.
Reported population / model
Human patients (n=40)
Reported study details
Observational study · - · Lower MOTS-c levels correlate with endothelial dysfunction
Reported by Pep-Pedia; the linked publication, design, doses and result have not been independently verified here.
Read the Pep-Pedia report ↗Pep-Pedia reference card; original summary of its reported findings · Checked 2026-10-12
13Metabolic Homeostasis and Obesity Prevention (2015)Pep-Pedia report · Primary source not checked
Pep-Pedia reports: High-fat-fed and aged mice showed better insulin responses and less obesity with MOTS-c; these findings do not define a human regimen.
Reported population / model
Mice
Reported study details
0.5-5 mg/kg/day i.p. · 3-8 weeks · Prevented obesity, improved insulin sensitivity by ~30%
Reported by Pep-Pedia; the linked publication, design, doses and result have not been independently verified here.
Read the Pep-Pedia report ↗Pep-Pedia reference card; original summary of its reported findings · Checked 2026-10-12
14Mitochondria-derived peptide MOTS-c: effects and mechanisms related to stress, metabolism and agingLinked reference · Not independently reviewed
Listed in Pep-Pedia’s bibliography; the linked publication and its findings have not been independently verified in this pass.
Pep-Pedia bibliography · Checked 2026-10-12
15MOTS-c, the Most Recent Mitochondrial Derived Peptide in Human Aging and Age-Related DiseasesLinked reference · Not independently reviewed
Listed in Pep-Pedia’s bibliography; the linked publication and its findings have not been independently verified in this pass.
Pep-Pedia bibliography · Checked 2026-10-12
16MOTS-c Serum Concentration Positively Correlates with Lower-Body Muscle Strength and Is Not Related to Maximal Oxygen UptakeLinked reference · Not independently reviewed
Listed in Pep-Pedia’s bibliography; the linked publication and its findings have not been independently verified in this pass.
Pep-Pedia bibliography · Checked 2026-10-12
17Exploring the therapeutic potential of MOTS-c in age-related macular degeneration: from cellular responses to patient-derived cybridsLinked reference · Not independently reviewed
Listed in Pep-Pedia’s bibliography; the linked publication and its findings have not been independently verified in this pass.
Pep-Pedia bibliography · Checked 2026-10-12
18MOTS-c is an effective target for treating cancer-induced bone pain through the induction of AMPK-mediated mitochondrial biogenesisLinked reference · Not independently reviewed
Listed in Pep-Pedia’s bibliography; the linked publication and its findings have not been independently verified in this pass.
Pep-Pedia bibliography · Checked 2026-10-12
19Pep-Pedia: MOTS-c — reported pharmacokineticsReference estimate; not independently verified human PKCommunity source checked
Lists a half-life of 4 hrs and a peak time of 1 hr. Stated attribution: Lee et al. 2015. This value is reported by a secondary reference. The stated attribution has not been independently verified as a route- and formulation-matched human PK measurement. Five half-lives is not complete clearance, and the source’s “cleared” value is not used as a measured endpoint.
Secondary reference page checked; the underlying quantitative claim is not independently confirmed. · Checked 2026-10-12
20Pep-Pedia: MOTS-c — route-specific referenceReference page checked; underlying claims require separate verification.Community source checked
Source page checked across available routes. Protocols, cycles, storage, mechanisms and pairing claims are secondary reports; checking the page does not independently validate those claims. Original concise summaries are used here.
Content coverage audit · Checked 2026-10-12