CARNITOR injection is labeled for specified metabolic disorders and prevention/treatment of deficiency in dialysis patients. This does not establish a performance benefit.
What does it do?
Levocarnitine supports fatty-acid transport; prescription products treat specified deficiency states. Oral supplements and carnitine derivatives have different evidence from IV treatment.
Approved & studied uses
Deficiency and dialysis research
2Defined clinical settings differ from weight-loss injections.
Community uses Reported, unvalidated
Deficiency and dialysis
22Approved product/route-specific replacement.
Weight and energy
22Modest oral trial effects; not proof of injectable fat loss.
Heart and circulation
22Cardiac/PAD studies vary by formulation.
Cognition, exercise and fertility
22ALCAR, LCLT and sperm-parameter research; not interchangeable outcomes.
Reasons people report using it; these do not establish benefit.22
Evidence limits
View research →Research-market product identity, purity and formulation cannot be established from a publication.1
5 distinct primary sources or abstracts checked. Evidence may concern a parent compound, individual blend ingredient, animal, or cell model; it does not necessarily establish a benefit for this exact product.
Evidence definitions →Key safety information
All risks →Seizure reports
Seizures have been reported with oral and IV levocarnitine, including increased frequency or severity in people with prior seizures.3
Levocarnitine has prescription deficiency indications; research-market athletic injections are not the same formulation.
Molecular information
Amino-acid sequence
Not applicable: this compound is not a single peptide.
Formula, sequence notation & identity
Levocarnitine, R-enantiomer inner salt
Hydrochloride and tartrate salts have different composition and mass.
How long does it stay in the body?
Illustrative model using reported human data.
Five half-lives in this simplified model. This is not a prediction of when effects stop.
Evidence and model details
The label uses a two-compartment model. This illustration models only terminal decline; it is not the full two-compartment curve. It does not establish subcutaneous or intramuscular kinetics.
Population: Human label PK; concentrations uncorrected for endogenous levocarnitine
100 × 2−time / half-life. Time zero is a reference level, not the moment of administration. Absorption, repeated dosing, metabolites and clinical effects are not modeled. Five half-lives leaves 3.125%, not zero. This curve cannot determine a dosing interval.
This value is reported by a secondary reference. The stated attribution has not been independently verified as a route- and formulation-matched human PK measurement.
Illustrative scenario using an unverified reference estimate.
Five half-lives in this estimated model. This is not a prediction of when effects stop.
Evidence and model details
Population: Not established by the reference estimate
Source’s stated attribution: FDA Carnitor Label
Source’s reported peak time: 3.5 hrs. This has not been independently confirmed and is not used in the elimination curve.
100 × 2−time / half-life. Time zero is a reference level, not the moment of administration. Absorption, repeated dosing, metabolites and clinical effects are not modeled. Five half-lives leaves 3.125%, not zero. This curve cannot determine a dosing interval.
What to expect
Study outcomes
A recent exercise trial was negative
The 2025 placebo-controlled crossover study did not find improved CrossFit performance after acute L-carnitine supplementation. It does not evaluate injectable use.1
Route-specific clinical research
A dialysis trial compared 500 mg orally three times daily with 20 mg/kg IV after dialysis for 24 weeks. Its anemia findings cannot establish fat-loss or performance benefit.2
Community poll 10 topics · Pep-Pedia snapshot
Voluntary, unverified reports. These percentages do not measure effectiveness or safety.
Experience
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
Duration of use
The source hides 1 additional categories. Their labels and percentages are unavailable.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
Side effects
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
Age range
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
Gender
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
Primary goal
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
Effectiveness
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
Dosage frequency
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
How discovered
The source hides 2 additional categories. Their labels and percentages are unavailable.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
Would recommend
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
Source & limitations
The source displays “264 responses” for this profile. This is not a confirmed participant count or a denominator for individual questions.
- Voluntary self-reports from Pep-Pedia visitors; identity, treatment, outcomes and timing are unverified. These data are not efficacy or safety estimates.
- The source displays a profile-wide response label, not a confirmed unique participant count. It stays unchanged across questions. Question-specific denominators and absolute option counts are not exposed.
- Only the top five categories are displayed for some questions. Extra categories are retained as an undisplayed-category count; their labels and percentages are unavailable.
- Displayed percentages are rounded. They may not total 100%, especially where categories are hidden.
- This is a dated snapshot, not a live survey or current recommendation.
Doses & schedules
Compare purpose, amount, route, frequency, and duration.
Source corrections
Source compatibility labels and '100% bioavailability' claims cannot be generalized to all injection routes.
Scroll to compare all columns →
| Route | Dose | Frequency | Goal / evidence | Duration | References |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Oral | 500 mg | Three times daily | Renal anemia route comparisonHuman study | 24 weeks | 2 |
Population Maintenance-hemodialysis patients Context Studied under protocol supervision; this is not a self-administration recommendation. Source dose wording 500 mg oral or 20 mg/kg IV study arms Source route wording Oral / intravenous | |||||
| IVIntravenous | 20 mg/kg | After dialysis | Renal anemia route comparisonHuman study | 24 weeks | 2 |
Population Maintenance-hemodialysis patients Context Studied under protocol supervision; this is not a self-administration recommendation. Source dose wording 500 mg oral or 20 mg/kg IV study arms Source route wording Oral / intravenous | |||||
| IV | 50 mg/kg/day | Divided doses or continuous | Carnitine deficiencyReference report | Ongoing for deficiency; 8-12 weeks for performance | 22 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. Source compatibility labels and '100% bioavailability' claims cannot be generalized to all injection routes. Source tabs Injectable | |||||
| IVIV - Slow push | 10-20 mg/kg | Post-dialysis | Hemodialysis supportReference report | Ongoing for deficiency; 8-12 weeks for performance | 22 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. Source compatibility labels and '100% bioavailability' claims cannot be generalized to all injection routes. Source tabs Injectable | |||||
| SubQSubcutaneous | 500-1500 mg | 1-3x weekly | Fat metabolism / PerformanceReference report | Ongoing for deficiency; 8-12 weeks for performance | 22 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. Source compatibility labels and '100% bioavailability' claims cannot be generalized to all injection routes. Source route wording SubQ or IM Source tabs Injectable | |||||
| IMIntramuscular | 500-1500 mg | 1-3x weekly | Fat metabolism / PerformanceReference report | Ongoing for deficiency; 8-12 weeks for performance | 22 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. Source compatibility labels and '100% bioavailability' claims cannot be generalized to all injection routes. Source route wording SubQ or IM Source tabs Injectable | |||||
| IVIV - Infusion | Up to 300 mg/kg/day | Divided or continuous | Critical illnessReference report | Ongoing for deficiency; 8-12 weeks for performance | 22 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. Source compatibility labels and '100% bioavailability' claims cannot be generalized to all injection routes. Source tabs Injectable | |||||
| Oral | 500-1000 mg | 1-2x daily | General wellness / EnergyReference report | 12-24 weeks typical; ongoing for maintenance | 22 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. Source compatibility labels and '100% bioavailability' claims cannot be generalized to all injection routes. Source tabs Oral | |||||
| OralOral - Empty stomach | 2000 mg | 1-2x daily | Weight managementReference report | 12-24 weeks typical; ongoing for maintenance | 22 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. Source compatibility labels and '100% bioavailability' claims cannot be generalized to all injection routes. Source tabs Oral | |||||
| OralOral - Before exercise | 2000-3000 mg | 1x daily | Exercise performance/recovery (LCLT)Reference report | 12-24 weeks typical; ongoing for maintenance | 22 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. Source compatibility labels and '100% bioavailability' claims cannot be generalized to all injection routes. Source tabs Oral | |||||
| Oral | 500-2000 mg | 1-2x daily | Cognitive support (ALCAR)Reference report | 12-24 weeks typical; ongoing for maintenance | 22 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. Source compatibility labels and '100% bioavailability' claims cannot be generalized to all injection routes. Source tabs Oral | |||||
| Oral | 2000 mg | 1x daily | Male fertilityReference report | 12-24 weeks typical; ongoing for maintenance | 22 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. Source compatibility labels and '100% bioavailability' claims cannot be generalized to all injection routes. Source tabs Oral | |||||
| OralOral - With meals | 1000-2000 mg | 1-2x daily | Cardiovascular supportReference report | 12-24 weeks typical; ongoing for maintenance | 22 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. Source compatibility labels and '100% bioavailability' claims cannot be generalized to all injection routes. Source tabs Oral | |||||
No protocols match these filters.
Study and label doses retain their study context. Reference reports are unvalidated practices, not personal treatment instructions. Ranges remain ranges; escalation stages are labeled.
Reported use periods and breaks. These do not establish a safe cycle or prove that breaks prevent tolerance.
Injectable
- Use period
- Ongoing for deficiency; 8-12 weeks for performance
- Break
- Not typically required
Reported timing
Any time; before exercise for performance goals
Oral
- Use period
- 12-24 weeks typical; ongoing for maintenance
- Break
- Not typically required; some cycle 8 weeks on/4 weeks off
Reported timing
Empty stomach or 30-60 min before exercise
Side effects & safety
Seizure reports
Seizures have been reported with oral and IV levocarnitine, including increased frequency or severity in people with prior seizures.
3Serious hypersensitivity
Anaphylaxis, airway swelling and bronchospasm have been reported, mostly in dialysis patients.
3Adverse effects
GI upset, odor, injection discomfort; thyroid antagonism and renal TMA/TMAO concerns.
Stop symptoms
Allergy, persistent GI symptoms, weakness/seizure, worsening thyroid or cardiovascular symptoms.
Not a complete safety screen. Discuss health decisions with a qualified clinician.
Combinations & interactions
8 entriesCheck cautions and reported pairings. A compatibility claim does not establish that a combination is safe.
Thyroid hormones
Caution reportedMay antagonize hormone action.22
Reference report · Pep-Pedia label: Use CautionWarfarin
Caution reportedPotential INR increase.22
Reference report · Pep-Pedia label: Monitor CombinationAcenocoumarol
Caution reportedPotential anticoagulant potentiation.22
Reference report · Pep-Pedia label: Monitor CombinationNAD+
Unverified pairingTheoretical energy complement.22
Reference report · Pep-Pedia label: SynergisticCoQ10
Unverified pairingContext-specific mitochondrial research.22
Reference report · Evidence context: SynergisticAlpha-lipoic acid
Unverified pairingProposed complement.22
Reference report · Pep-Pedia label: SynergisticOmega-3 fatty acids
Unverified pairingProposed metabolic complement.22
Reference report · Pep-Pedia label: SynergisticBPC-157
Unverified pairingCombination untested.22
Reference report · Pep-Pedia label: CompatibleNo matching interactions. Try another name or filter.
Reconstitution
The checked prescription product is an IV-only aqueous solution; bacteriostatic-water reconstitution does not apply.3
Formulation matters
Research-market SC or IM mixtures are not interchangeable with the checked IV label.3
Reference preparation details
Reported handling information, not a validated formulation or instruction to prepare an injectable product.
Injectable
The source describes a ready-made sterile injectable solution.
- Form
- Source describes a prepared product
- Reported parameters
- It mentions normal saline for IV dilution, not powder reconstitution.
Oral
The source distinguishes capsules, tablets and powders across different carnitine forms.
- Form
- Source describes a prepared product
- Reported parameters
- Reported powder carriers: drinking water or juice.
Appearance & documentation
Appearance and a purity certificate cannot establish sterility, identity, or suitability for injection.
Available forms
Prescription IV solution
1 g/5 mL or 4 g/20 mL single-dose vials, both 200 mg/mL. These are liquid prescription presentations, not research powders.3
Packaging examples, not a market survey. Approved and research products are not interchangeable.
Storage after mixing
Reconstituted research vials
The available sources describe prepared products or do not establish a reconstitution method.22
Full storage notes from Pep-Pedia
22Room temperature unopened; refrigerate after opening
Room temperature, cool dry place
Storage depends on the formulation, diluent, container, and handling. Follow the specific product label or pharmacist’s instructions.
Research findings
Human trialsSource context
Source compatibility labels and '100% bioavailability' claims cannot be generalized to all injection routes.
Compound identity & other names
A nutrient and prescription drug for defined deficiency settings. Oral supplementation, intravenous clinical therapy and research-market injections have different evidence and exposure.
Levocarnitine has prescription deficiency indications; research-market athletic injections are not the same formulation.
How it may work
Mitochondrial fatty-acid shuttling; ALCAR, LCLT and propionyl-carnitine findings are formulation-specific.22
A recent exercise trial was negative
The 2025 placebo-controlled crossover study did not find improved CrossFit performance after acute L-carnitine supplementation. It does not evaluate injectable use.
1Route-specific clinical research
A dialysis trial compared 500 mg orally three times daily with 20 mg/kg IV after dialysis for 24 weeks. Its anemia findings cannot establish fat-loss or performance benefit.
2Research areas and evidence gaps
Carnitine deficiency. CARNITOR injection is labeled for specified metabolic disorders and prevention/treatment of deficiency in dialysis patients. This does not establish a performance benefit.21
Deficiency and dialysis research. Defined clinical settings differ from weight-loss injections.2
- Research-market product identity, purity and formulation cannot be established from a publication.
Community reports Unvalidated
Performance discussions as described by Pep-Pedia.5
No representative survey, independently verified products, or controlled outcomes.
Search coverage and review status
The targeted check identified relevant additional literature or current regulatory information; checked findings are separated from retained bibliography-only references.
- Checked
- 2026-10-12
- Search
- levocarnitine 2025 2026 randomized trial site:pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Catalog
- Pep-Pedia ↗ · 14 listed references retained
- Targeted search, not an exhaustive systematic review.
- Bibliography-only entries are retained for traceability and are not treated as verified findings.
AI-prepared summaries. Independent medical editorial review is pending.
References
Original sources and review status. Open a reference to read its summary.
1Acute L-Carnitine Supplementation Does Not Improve CrossFit PerformanceAbstract checked
2025 randomized crossover trial did not find an acute performance benefit from oral supplementation.
The 2025 placebo-controlled crossover study did not find improved CrossFit performance after acute L-carnitine supplementation. It does not evaluate injectable use.
Additional research · Checked 2026-10-12
2Intravenous versus oral levocarnitine in maintenance hemodialysisAbstract checked
2025 trial compared oral and IV routes in dialysis patients over 24 weeks; IV treatment showed larger improvements in measured hematologic outcomes.
A dialysis trial compared 500 mg orally three times daily with 20 mg/kg IV after dialysis for 24 weeks. Its anemia findings cannot establish fat-loss or performance benefit.
Additional research · Checked 2026-10-12
3Levocarnitine Injection USP — American Regent labelPrimary source checked
Ready-to-use IV solution, 200 mg/mL, for specified deficiency indications. Label lists seizures, severe hypersensitivity and a warfarin INR interaction.
Additional research · Checked 2026-10-12
4PubChem: Levocarnitine, R-enantiomer inner saltPrimary source checked
Chemical registry identity, molecular formula and molecular weight; not clinical efficacy evidence.
Additional research · Checked 2026-10-12
5Pep-Pedia: L-Carnitine — community referenceCommunity source checked
Accessed October 12, 2026. Secondary descriptions and bibliography; community schedules are unvalidated reports, not recommendations.
6Weight Loss Meta-Analysis (2020)Pep-Pedia report · Primary source not checked
Pep-Pedia reports: The meta-analysis reported modest pooled changes: weight −1.21 kg, BMI −0.24 kg/m² and fat mass −2.08 kg.
Reported population / model
37 RCTs
Reported study details
2,292 participants · Various doses · Significant weight reduction
Reported by Pep-Pedia; the linked publication, design, doses and result have not been independently verified here.
Read the Pep-Pedia report ↗Pep-Pedia reference card; original summary of its reported findings · Checked 2026-10-12
7Cardiovascular Secondary Prevention (2013)Pep-Pedia report · Primary source not checked
Pep-Pedia reports: Pooled older cardiac trials associated supplementation with lower mortality, arrhythmia and angina; trial quality and applicability require examination.
Reported population / model
13 controlled trials
Reported study details
3,629 participants · Meta-analysis · Mortality outcomes
Reported by Pep-Pedia; the linked publication, design, doses and result have not been independently verified here.
Read the Pep-Pedia report ↗Pep-Pedia reference card; original summary of its reported findings · Checked 2026-10-12
8Exercise Recovery LCLT Study (2021)Pep-Pedia report · Primary source not checked
Pep-Pedia reports: A five-week placebo-controlled study reported less soreness and lower creatine kinase after strenuous exercise with L-carnitine L-tartrate.
Reported population / model
73 participants
Reported study details
2g/day · 5 weeks · Double-blind placebo-controlled
Reported by Pep-Pedia; the linked publication, design, doses and result have not been independently verified here.
Read the Pep-Pedia report ↗Pep-Pedia reference card; original summary of its reported findings · Checked 2026-10-12
9Male Fertility Parameters Study (2022)Pep-Pedia report · Primary source not checked
Pep-Pedia reports: The pooled infertility studies reportedly improved several sperm measures; laboratory semen endpoints do not necessarily predict pregnancy or live birth.
Reported population / model
Meta-analysis
Reported study details
Multiple RCTs · 2g/day · Sperm parameters and hormones
Reported by Pep-Pedia; the linked publication, design, doses and result have not been independently verified here.
Read the Pep-Pedia report ↗Pep-Pedia reference card; original summary of its reported findings · Checked 2026-10-12
10Acetyl-L-Carnitine Cognitive Meta-Analysis (2003)Pep-Pedia report · Primary source not checked
Pep-Pedia reports: The analysis concerns acetyl-L-carnitine in MCI/early Alzheimer's, not interchangeable evidence for every L-carnitine formulation.
Reported population / model
Double-blind RCTs
Reported study details
MCI and mild AD patients · 3 months minimum · Clinical scales
Reported by Pep-Pedia; the linked publication, design, doses and result have not been independently verified here.
Read the Pep-Pedia report ↗Pep-Pedia reference card; original summary of its reported findings · Checked 2026-10-12
11Lipid Profile Umbrella Meta-Analysis (2023)Pep-Pedia report · Primary source not checked
Pep-Pedia reports: The umbrella analysis reports lower total cholesterol, triglycerides and LDL, with higher HDL across heterogeneous populations.
Reported population / model
13 meta-analyses pooled
Reported study details
Multiple populations · Comprehensive lipid outcomes
Reported by Pep-Pedia; the linked publication, design, doses and result have not been independently verified here.
Read the Pep-Pedia report ↗Pep-Pedia reference card; original summary of its reported findings · Checked 2026-10-12
12Intestinal microbiota metabolism of L-carnitine, a nutrient in red meat, promotes atherosclerosisLinked reference · Not independently reviewed
Listed in Pep-Pedia’s bibliography; the linked publication and its findings have not been independently verified in this pass.
Pep-Pedia bibliography · Checked 2026-10-12
13Meta-analysis of double blind randomized controlled clinical trials of acetyl-L-carnitine versus placebo in the treatment of mild cognitive impairment and mild Alzheimer's diseaseLinked reference · Not independently reviewed
Listed in Pep-Pedia’s bibliography; the linked publication and its findings have not been independently verified in this pass.
Pep-Pedia bibliography · Checked 2026-10-12
14L-Carnitine L-tartrate supplementation favorably affects markers of recovery from exercise stressLinked reference · Not independently reviewed
Listed in Pep-Pedia’s bibliography; the linked publication and its findings have not been independently verified in this pass.
Pep-Pedia bibliography · Checked 2026-10-12
15The effect of (L-)carnitine on weight loss in adults: a systematic review and meta-analysis of randomized controlled trialsLinked reference · Not independently reviewed
Listed in Pep-Pedia’s bibliography; the linked publication and its findings have not been independently verified in this pass.
Pep-Pedia bibliography · Checked 2026-10-12
16Kinetics, pharmacokinetics, and regulation of L-carnitine and acetyl-L-carnitine metabolismLinked reference · Not independently reviewed
Listed in Pep-Pedia’s bibliography; the linked publication and its findings have not been independently verified in this pass.
Pep-Pedia bibliography · Checked 2026-10-12
17Acetyl-L-Carnitine Supplementation and the Treatment of Depressive Symptoms: A Systematic Review and Meta-AnalysisLinked reference · Not independently reviewed
Listed in Pep-Pedia’s bibliography; the linked publication and its findings have not been independently verified in this pass.
Pep-Pedia bibliography · Checked 2026-10-12
18The bright and the dark sides of L-carnitine supplementation: a systematic reviewLinked reference · Not independently reviewed
Listed in Pep-Pedia’s bibliography; the linked publication and its findings have not been independently verified in this pass.
Pep-Pedia bibliography · Checked 2026-10-12
19L-Carnitine and Acetyl-L-carnitine Roles and Neuroprotection in Developing BrainLinked reference · Not independently reviewed
Listed in Pep-Pedia’s bibliography; the linked publication and its findings have not been independently verified in this pass.
Pep-Pedia bibliography · Checked 2026-10-12
20Pep-Pedia: L-Carnitine — reported pharmacokineticsReference estimate; not independently verified human PKCommunity source checked
Lists a half-life of 17 hrs and a peak time of 3.5 hrs. Stated attribution: FDA Carnitor Label. This value is reported by a secondary reference. The stated attribution has not been independently verified as a route- and formulation-matched human PK measurement. Five half-lives is not complete clearance, and the source’s “cleared” value is not used as a measured endpoint.
Secondary reference page checked; the underlying quantitative claim is not independently confirmed. · Checked 2026-10-12
21CARNITOR injection: route-specific pharmacokinetics and indicationsPrimary source checked
The label reports an apparent terminal half-life of 17.4 hours following a slow IV bolus, using plasma concentrations uncorrected for endogenous levocarnitine. Its separate 3.3-hour peak measurement is from oral dosing; the two are not combined into one IV absorption curve.
22Pep-Pedia: L-Carnitine — route-specific referenceReference page checked; underlying claims require separate verification.Community source checked
Source page checked across available routes. Protocols, cycles, storage, mechanisms and pairing claims are secondary reports; checking the page does not independently validate those claims. Original concise summaries are used here.
Content coverage audit · Checked 2026-10-12