Antioxidant exposure; formulation-specific skin research
1Scope of investigation or explicitly identified community interest; not an established indication.
An antioxidant with formulation-specific evidence
Investigational; this profile does not establish an approved use.
Endogenous antioxidant tripeptide studied across several routes. Normal biochemical roles do not establish benefit from supplementation or injections.
Scope of investigation or explicitly identified community interest; not an established indication.
Redox and detoxification pathways; not a proven general detox treatment.
T-cell, NK-cell and macrophage research.
Preliminary Parkinson research; efficacy over placebo not demonstrated.
Modest/temporary lightening claims; IV cosmetic use carries serious concerns.
Reasons people report using it; these do not establish benefit.15
Oral findings do not establish injectable safety or an anti-aging effect.1
2 distinct primary sources or abstracts checked. Evidence may concern a parent compound, individual blend ingredient, animal, or cell model; it does not necessarily establish a benefit for this exact product.
Evidence definitions →Oral pharmacology cannot establish the safety of IV, IM or nebulized glutathione.1
Investigational; this profile does not establish an approved use.
3 residues · N → C1
γE–C–GγE = gamma-glutamyl linkage, distinct from an ordinary alpha-peptide bond.
Reduced glutathione; γ-glutamyl-cysteinyl-glycine
Sequence and formulation must be confirmed for the exact material; similarly named products are not necessarily interchangeable.
No numerical human elimination estimate is assigned from animal experiments, related molecules, or an unsupported website estimate.
No numerical estimate was found in the checked data or Pep-Pedia profile. A curve would require an unsupported assumption.
Oral findings do not establish injectable safety or an anti-aging effect.1
Voluntary, unverified reports. These percentages do not measure effectiveness or safety.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
The source hides 4 additional categories. Their labels and percentages are unavailable.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
The source hides 2 additional categories. Their labels and percentages are unavailable.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
The source hides 12 additional categories. Their labels and percentages are unavailable.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
The source hides 16 additional categories. Their labels and percentages are unavailable.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
The source hides 15 additional categories. Their labels and percentages are unavailable.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
The source hides 5 additional categories. Their labels and percentages are unavailable.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
The source hides 4 additional categories. Their labels and percentages are unavailable.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
The source hides 3 additional categories. Their labels and percentages are unavailable.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
The source displays “1730 responses” for this profile. This is not a confirmed participant count or a denominator for individual questions.
Compare purpose, amount, route, frequency, and duration.
NAC supports glutathione synthesis; glutathione itself is not a substitute for established acetaminophen-overdose treatment.
Scroll to compare all columns →
| Route | Dose | Frequency | Goal / evidence | Duration | References |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Oral | 300 mg — micellar formulation | Single administrations in a crossover design | Oral exposure comparisonHuman study | Acute crossover | 1 |
Population 14 healthy adults Context Product-specific pharmacology, not an injection protocol. Source dose wording Micellar 300 mg; standard comparator 500 mg | |||||
| Oral | 500 mg — standard comparator | Single administrations in a crossover design | Oral exposure comparisonHuman study | Acute crossover | 1 |
Population 14 healthy adults Context Product-specific pharmacology, not an injection protocol. Source dose wording Micellar 300 mg; standard comparator 500 mg | |||||
| IMIntramuscular | 200-400 mg | 1-2x weekly | General antioxidant supportReference report | 4-8 weeks typical | 15 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. NAC supports glutathione synthesis; glutathione itself is not a substitute for established acetaminophen-overdose treatment. Source route wording IM or IV push Source tabs Injectable | |||||
| IVIntravenous | 200-400 mg | 1-2x weekly | General antioxidant supportReference report | 4-8 weeks typical | 15 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. NAC supports glutathione synthesis; glutathione itself is not a substitute for established acetaminophen-overdose treatment. Source route wording IM or IV push Source tabs Injectable | |||||
| IVIV push or slow infusion | 400-600 mg | 2-3x weekly | Detoxification supportReference report | 4-8 weeks typical | 15 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. NAC supports glutathione synthesis; glutathione itself is not a substitute for established acetaminophen-overdose treatment. Source tabs Injectable | |||||
| IMIntramuscular | 400-600 mg | 1-2x weekly | Immune supportReference report | 4-8 weeks typical | 15 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. NAC supports glutathione synthesis; glutathione itself is not a substitute for established acetaminophen-overdose treatment. Source route wording IV or IM Source tabs Injectable | |||||
| IVIntravenous | 400-600 mg | 1-2x weekly | Immune supportReference report | 4-8 weeks typical | 15 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. NAC supports glutathione synthesis; glutathione itself is not a substitute for established acetaminophen-overdose treatment. Source route wording IV or IM Source tabs Injectable | |||||
| IVIV infusion (clinical protocol) | 1400 mg | 3x weekly | Neurological support (Parkinson's research)Reference report | 4-8 weeks typical | 15 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. NAC supports glutathione synthesis; glutathione itself is not a substitute for established acetaminophen-overdose treatment. Source tabs Injectable | |||||
| SubQSubcutaneous | 200 mg | 1x weekly | MaintenanceReference report | 4-8 weeks typical | 15 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. NAC supports glutathione synthesis; glutathione itself is not a substitute for established acetaminophen-overdose treatment. Source route wording IM or SubQ Source tabs Injectable | |||||
| IMIntramuscular | 200 mg | 1x weekly | MaintenanceReference report | 4-8 weeks typical | 15 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. NAC supports glutathione synthesis; glutathione itself is not a substitute for established acetaminophen-overdose treatment. Source route wording IM or SubQ Source tabs Injectable | |||||
| OralOral (liposomal preferred) | 250-500 mg | Daily | General antioxidant supportReference report | Can be used ongoing | 15 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. NAC supports glutathione synthesis; glutathione itself is not a substitute for established acetaminophen-overdose treatment. Source tabs Oral | |||||
| OralOral liposomal or Sublingual | 500-1000 mg | Daily, divided doses | Enhanced supportReference report | Can be used ongoing | 15 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. NAC supports glutathione synthesis; glutathione itself is not a substitute for established acetaminophen-overdose treatment. Source tabs Oral | |||||
| IntranasalNasal spray | 100-200 mg per nostril | 3x daily | Neurological support (PD research protocol)Reference report | 3+ months for neurological applications | 15 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. NAC supports glutathione synthesis; glutathione itself is not a substitute for established acetaminophen-overdose treatment. Source tabs Nasal | |||||
| IntranasalNasal spray | 100 mg per nostril | 1-2x daily | General brain health supportReference report | 3+ months for neurological applications | 15 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. NAC supports glutathione synthesis; glutathione itself is not a substitute for established acetaminophen-overdose treatment. Source tabs Nasal | |||||
| OtherApply to face/target areas | 2-5% cream or serum | 1-2x daily | Skin brighteningReference report | Ongoing use required to maintain any effects | 15 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. NAC supports glutathione synthesis; glutathione itself is not a substitute for established acetaminophen-overdose treatment. Source tabs Topical | |||||
| OtherApply after cleansing | 2% cream | Daily | Antioxidant skin supportReference report | Ongoing use required to maintain any effects | 15 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. NAC supports glutathione synthesis; glutathione itself is not a substitute for established acetaminophen-overdose treatment. Source tabs Topical | |||||
No protocols match these filters.
Study and label doses retain their study context. Reference reports are unvalidated practices, not personal treatment instructions. Ranges remain ranges; escalation stages are labeled.
Reported use periods and breaks. These do not establish a safe cycle or prove that breaks prevent tolerance.
No specific timing required. Some prefer morning administration. IV often given in clinical settings.
Morning preferred. Can split into morning and evening doses.
Can be used any time of day. Space doses evenly throughout the day for multiple daily doses.
Evening application common. Use sunscreen during day if using for skin lightening.
Oral pharmacology cannot establish the safety of IV, IM or nebulized glutathione.
1A 14-person exposure study cannot rule out uncommon or long-term adverse effects.
1Anaphylaxis, liver injury and injection infection possible; jaundice, dark urine, breathing difficulty or unusual bruising need assessment.
GI upset, nasal/skin irritation; inhaled forms may worsen asthma.
Source flags G6PD hemolysis and zinc depletion; pregnancy/lactation safety unestablished.
Not a complete safety screen. Discuss health decisions with a qualified clinician.
Check cautions and reported pairings. A compatibility claim does not establish that a combination is safe.
Oncology review; possible treatment interference.15
Reference report · Evidence context: Use cautionProposed antioxidant/topical complement; no general safety conclusion.15
Reference report · Evidence context: Reference pairingA controlled interaction assessment for this exact compound and formulation was not identified in the sources checked. Absence of interaction data is not evidence of compatibility.2
Research contextNo matching interactions. Try another name or filter.
A product-specific preparation or sterility protocol has not been verified.2
A concentration calculation cannot establish a suitable diluent, compatibility, storage interval, or sterility. No universal bacteriostatic-water volume is assigned.2
Reported handling information, not a validated formulation or instruction to prepare an injectable product.
The source describes mostly premixed injections and product-specific handling of dry material.
Pep-Pedia repeats injection preparation text in this route view.
That repeated text does not establish an oral, nasal or topical formulation; use route-specific product instructions.
Pep-Pedia repeats injection preparation text in this route view.
That repeated text does not establish an oral, nasal or topical formulation; use route-specific product instructions.
Pep-Pedia repeats injection preparation text in this route view.
That repeated text does not establish an oral, nasal or topical formulation; use route-specific product instructions.
Appearance and a purity certificate cannot establish sterility, identity, or suitability for injection.
No verified packaging examples included.
Packaging examples, not a market survey. Approved and research products are not interchangeable.
The checked sources do not establish how long this research preparation remains stable and sterile after mixing.15
Refrigerate at 2-8°C (36-46°F). Protect from light. Do not freeze. Use within manufacturer's expiration date.
Room temperature, away from heat and moisture. Refrigerate liposomal products after opening if directed.
Refrigerate. Protect from light.
Per product instructions - typically room temperature away from light
Storage depends on the formulation, diluent, container, and handling. Follow the specific product label or pharmacist’s instructions.
NAC supports glutathione synthesis; glutathione itself is not a substitute for established acetaminophen-overdose treatment.
Glutathione is an endogenous tripeptide involved in redox chemistry. Oral, topical, inhaled and injectable formulations are different interventions; increasing a blood biomarker does not itself demonstrate better health.
Other names: GSH · Reduced glutathione
Investigational; this profile does not establish an approved use.
Redox regulation, antioxidant recycling and conjugation; oral, liposomal, nasal and topical delivery have different evidence.15
A micellar product produced greater exposure than comparison products. Doses and formulations differed; short biomarker follow-up cannot establish long-term health benefit.
1In 45 participants over 3 months, neither glutathione arm improved symptoms more than placebo. Improvement from baseline alone did not establish efficacy.
Human randomized placebo-controlled trial16Antioxidant exposure; formulation-specific skin research. Scope of investigation or explicitly identified community interest; not an established indication.1
Pep-Pedia reports use in the research-peptide community. These reports are not clinical evidence.2
Community protocol tables are unvalidated descriptions, not treatment instructions.
Additional recent evidence was checked, including A Targeted Metabolomic Assessment of Oral Glutathione Bioavailability and Safety in Humans: A Randomized Crossover Clinical Trial. See individual source summaries for findings and limitations.
AI-prepared summaries. Independent medical editorial review is pending.
Original sources and review status. Open a reference to read its summary.
A 14-person oral crossover trial compared bioavailability of different glutathione formulations.
A micellar product produced greater exposure than comparison products. Doses and formulations differed; short biomarker follow-up cannot establish long-term health benefit.
Additional research · Checked 2026-10-12
Secondary community overview checked on 12 October 2026. Its practice tables and efficacy claims are not independently validated clinical guidance.
Pep-Pedia reports: Plasma glutathione rose rapidly after IV exposure and then declined with a reported half-life near 14 minutes.
Reported population / model
Human
Reported study details
2g/m² IV infusion · Rapid clearance · t½ ~14 minutes
Reported by Pep-Pedia; the linked publication, design, doses and result have not been independently verified here.
Read the Pep-Pedia report ↗Pep-Pedia reference card; original summary of its reported findings · Checked 2026-10-12
Pep-Pedia reports: Postmortem Parkinson's brain samples reportedly had about 40% lower substantia-nigra glutathione; this does not establish benefit from supplementation.
Reported population / model
Human
Reported study details
Post-mortem · 40% reduction in substantia nigra
Reported by Pep-Pedia; the linked publication, design, doses and result have not been independently verified here.
Read the Pep-Pedia report ↗Pep-Pedia reference card; original summary of its reported findings · Checked 2026-10-12
In 45 participants over 3 months, neither glutathione arm improved symptoms more than placebo. Improvement from baseline alone did not establish efficacy.
Pep-Pedia bibliography; reconciled with an existing checked primary-source record · Checked 2026-10-12
Pep-Pedia reports: The review describes limited skin-lightening evidence, modest oral/topical signals and greater safety concerns for IV use.
Reported population / model
Review
Reported study details
Multiple RCTs · Oral, IV, topical forms
Reported by Pep-Pedia; the linked publication, design, doses and result have not been independently verified here.
Read the Pep-Pedia report ↗Pep-Pedia reference card; original summary of its reported findings · Checked 2026-10-12
Pep-Pedia reports: The review links intracellular glutathione availability with T-cell proliferation and natural-killer activity; supplementation outcomes are a separate question.
Reported population / model
Review
Reported study details
Lymphocyte function · GSH depletion effects
Reported by Pep-Pedia; the linked publication, design, doses and result have not been independently verified here.
Read the Pep-Pedia report ↗Pep-Pedia reference card; original summary of its reported findings · Checked 2026-10-12
Pep-Pedia reports: Glutathione participates in conjugation and removal of xenobiotics; its physiological role alone does not prove a benefit from extra dosing.
Reported population / model
Review
Reported study details
Hepatic metabolism · Xenobiotic detoxification
Reported by Pep-Pedia; the linked publication, design, doses and result have not been independently verified here.
Read the Pep-Pedia report ↗Pep-Pedia reference card; original summary of its reported findings · Checked 2026-10-12
Reference retained from Pep-Pedia’s bibliography. The original source and the website’s description have not been independently verified; the listed title may not match the linked record.
Pep-Pedia bibliography · Checked 2026-10-12
Reference retained from Pep-Pedia’s bibliography. The original source and the website’s description have not been independently verified; the listed title may not match the linked record.
Pep-Pedia bibliography · Checked 2026-10-12
Reference retained from Pep-Pedia’s bibliography. The original source and the website’s description have not been independently verified; the listed title may not match the linked record.
Pep-Pedia bibliography · Checked 2026-10-12
Reference retained from Pep-Pedia’s bibliography. The original source and the website’s description have not been independently verified; the listed title may not match the linked record.
Pep-Pedia bibliography · Checked 2026-10-12
Reference retained from Pep-Pedia’s bibliography. The original source and the website’s description have not been independently verified; the listed title may not match the linked record.
Pep-Pedia bibliography · Checked 2026-10-12
Reference retained from Pep-Pedia’s bibliography. The original source and the website’s description have not been independently verified; the listed title may not match the linked record.
Pep-Pedia bibliography · Checked 2026-10-12
Source page checked across available routes. Protocols, cycles, storage, mechanisms and pairing claims are secondary reports; checking the page does not independently validate those claims. Original concise summaries are used here.
Content coverage audit · Checked 2026-10-12
In 45 participants over 3 months, neither glutathione arm improved symptoms more than placebo. Improvement from baseline alone did not establish efficacy.
In 45 participants over 3 months, neither glutathione arm improved symptoms more than placebo. Improvement from baseline alone did not establish efficacy.
Additional primary-source check · Checked 2026-10-12